savebackcards.com

Krak Card vs Rizon Card

Krak Card

Crypto native

7.3
Rizon Card

Crypto native

6.6

Verdict

  • Krak Card scores higher overall (7.3 vs 6.6 out of 10).
  • Krak Card is clearly stronger on: FX & international.
  • Rizon Card is clearly stronger on: Cashback & rewards, Custody & security.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Krak Card is a good fit for

  • Frequent travellers

Stronger on: FX & international

Rizon Card is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Stablecoin holders
  • Everyday spenders who want cashback

Stronger on: Cashback & rewards, Custody & security

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionKrak CardRizon Card
Fees100100
Cashback & rewards2151
Availability93–
FX & international10032
Product features7070
Custody & security6080
Credit & financing30–
Limits & ATM100–
Transparency100100
Best for Cashback5.66.2
Best for Travel8.85.6
Best for Self-Custodyn/a7.4
Best for DeFi Users5.97.0
Best for Stablecoinsn/a7.1
Best for High Spenders6.05.9
Best for Low Fees10.07.6
Best for Beginners8.07.8

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Debit cardShow source

Network

MastercardConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

UK and EEA; the US card is a Visa

VisaConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Visa Platinum

Custody model

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Card spends the Krak account balance (e-money and crypto held by Kraken)

Self-custodyConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Wallet powered by Privy; private keys stay with the user

Card issuer / program manager

Monavate (UK) / UAB Monavate (EEA); e-money by Payward Ireland LimitedShow source
Signify Holdings Inc. and Nimbus LLC (Rain)Show source

Tiers / plans

Starter · Lite · Pro · Elite · MaxConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback tier by 30-day average assets held

Standard · Rizon Emerald (from $5.59/month)Show source

Fees

Annual fee

FreeShow source
No data yet

Monthly fee

FreeShow source
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Account maintenance; optional Rizon Emerald subscription from $5.59/month

Physical card fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plastic card; replacement €4.99

Not disclosedConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Shown in the app only

Virtual card fee

FreeShow source
Not disclosedConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Shown in the app only

Replacement fee

€4.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plastic card; metal card replacement €60

No data yet

FX fee

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

EEA/UK: Mastercard rate without markup; a variable spread applies when spending crypto. US card: 1%

1.7%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plus $0.10 per non-USD card transaction; 1.02% with Rizon Emerald; USD spend free

Top-up fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

Crypto withdrawal fee

No data yet
0.1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plus network fee (on-chain withdrawal)

ATM fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

No Krak fee; third-party ATM fees may apply

No data yet

Other fees & markups

Variable spread when spending crypto · AutoEarn fee: 30% of yield earnedShow source
No data yet

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Starter tier: under €200 average assets; 0.5% from €200

2.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

On eligible purchases

Max cashback

2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Max tier: 30-day average assets of at least €/£50,000; up to 4% boosted on travel via Krak Concierge

2.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Metal card with bigger cashback announced as coming soon

Cashback paid in

EUR, GBP or BTCShow source
No data yet

Cashback type

FiatConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Or bitcoin

No data yet

Interest on balance

3.6%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to; on eligible balances, variable

No data yet

Cashback conditions

Rate set by the 30-day average assets held across Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro: 0.5% from €200, 1% from €1,000, 1.5% from €10,000, 2% from €50,000 · Metal card free from €/£50,000 average assetsShow source
RizPoints on every purchase, redeemable for rewardsShow source

Staking / holding required for top rewards

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Holding assets (not staking) sets the cashback tier

No data yet

Staking asset

Any assets held at Krak, Kraken and Kraken ProShow source
No data yet

Capital required for top rewards

€50,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

30-day average for the 2% tier

No data yet

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoShow source
No data yet

Availability

Available in

European Union, United KingdomConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Residents of the UK and the EU; a separate US card exists

No data yet

Account / spend currencies

600+ currencies and assetsShow source
No data yet

Features

Apple Pay

YesShow source
YesShow source

Google Pay

No data yet
YesShow source

Physical card

YesShow source
YesShow source

Virtual card

YesShow source
YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

YesShow source
YesShow source

Spend stablecoins

No data yet
YesShow source

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Krak Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs+0 EUR
  • Cashback+0 EUR
  • Net annual value0 EUR

Rizon Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs−61 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashback+450 EUR
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers