ether.fi Cash vs Krak Card
Crypto native
Verdict
- ether.fi Cash scores higher overall (8.1 vs 7.4 out of 10).
- ether.fi Cash is clearly stronger on: Cashback & rewards, Product features, Custody & security, Credit & financing.
- Krak Card is clearly stronger on: FX & international, Transparency.
- A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.
ether.fi Cash is a good fit for
- People who want to keep control of their keys
- Stablecoin holders
- Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card
- Everyday spenders who want cashback
Stronger on: Cashback & rewards, Product features, Custody & security, Credit & financing
Krak Card is a good fit for
- Frequent travellers
Stronger on: FX & international, Transparency
Score by criterion
| Criterion | ether.fi Cash | Krak Card |
|---|---|---|
| Fees | 100 | 100 |
| Cashback & rewards | 69 | 21 |
| Availability | 100 | 93 |
| FX & international | 40 | 100 |
| Product features | 100 | 70 |
| Custody & security | 85 | 75 |
| Credit & financing | 75 | 30 |
| Limits & ATM | – | 100 |
| Transparency | 74 | 100 |
| Best for Cashback | 7.7 | 5.7 |
| Best for Travel | 6.7 | 8.8 |
| Best for Self-Custody | 8.1 | n/a |
| Best for DeFi Users | 8.1 | 6.3 |
| Best for Stablecoins | 7.7 | n/a |
| Best for High Spenders | 7.0 | 6.0 |
| Best for Low Fees | 7.4 | 10.0 |
| Best for Beginners | 9.0 | 8.1 |
| Best Crypto Credit Card | 7.9 | n/a |
Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.
Product
Product status
ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source
Card type
Crypto-backed creditConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Marketed as a credit card; Direct Pay mode spends your own balance
Debit cardShow source
Network
VisaShow source
MastercardConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
UK and EEA; the US card is a Visa
Custody model
Self-custodyConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Account is non-custodial; the card itself is issued by a third-party issuer under separate terms
CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Card spends the Krak account balance (e-money and crypto held by Kraken)
Card issuer / program manager
Third National (issuer under Visa license); program by Ether.Fi Cash Ltd.Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
International cardholder agreement (Ltd.); US persons are covered by separate US agreements
Monavate (UK) / UAB Monavate (EEA); e-money by Payward Ireland LimitedShow source
Tiers / plans
Core · Luxe · Pinnacle · VIPShow source
Starter · Lite · Pro · Elite · MaxConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Cashback tier by 30-day average assets held
Fees
Annual fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Core membership; Luxe ($199/yr) and Pinnacle ($999/yr) can optionally be bought or earned via Liquid deposits / ETHFI staking
FreeShow source
Monthly fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Core membership
FreeShow source
Physical card fee
$60Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Core, including shipping; Luxe and higher get 1 free
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Plastic card; replacement €4.99
Virtual card fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
First virtual card free on Core; $10 in some regions and for further cards
FreeShow source
Replacement fee
€4.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Plastic card; metal card replacement €60
FX fee
1.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Non-USD purchases, Core: 1% FX base fee + up to 0.5% (Luxe +0.25%, Pinnacle/VIP none). Purchases charged in EUR: 0% FX markup.
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
EEA/UK: Mastercard rate without markup; a variable spread applies when spending crypto. US card: 1%
Top-up fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Bank transfer free; debit card and Apple/Google Pay deposits €0.25 + 3.75% (UK £0.25 + 3.75%); PayPal fees vary by region. US: linked bank (ACH) free, USD/CAD SWIFT wire $3, card deposits $0.25 + 3.75%, PayPal 3.39%
ATM fee
Not disclosedConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Core: ATM withdrawals available, fee not stated; Pinnacle and VIP: free, up to 10 withdrawals per month. The marketing page that listed 2% now redirects to /personal.
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
No Krak fee; third-party ATM fees may apply
Transfer fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Incoming and outgoing SEPA free (UK domestic transfers free); outgoing SWIFT: regional funding fees may apply; transfers between Krak accounts free. US: ACH in/out free
Other fees & markups
Variable spread when spending crypto · AutoEarn fee: 30% of yield earned · Vault fee: 25% of yield earned · Small balance conversions: fixed 3% feeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Vault and AutoEarn fees are taken from yield; displayed APYs exclude them
Cashback & rewards
Base cashback
3%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Core membership, on the first $2,000 of card spend per month
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Starter tier: under €200 average assets; 0.5% from €200
Max cashback
4%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
VIP membership, on the first $50,000 of card spend per month
2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Max tier: 30-day average assets of at least €/£50,000; up to 4% boosted on travel via Krak Concierge
Cashback paid in
ETHFIShow source
EUR, GBP or BTCShow source
Cashback type
Platform tokenShow source
FiatConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Or bitcoin
Interest on balance
5.35%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
USD Earn vault (ether.fi Liquid), variable APY, not guaranteed; EUR vault 5.29% APY; DeFi vault risk
3.6%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Up to; on eligible balances, variable
Cashback-eligible spend cap
$2,000/monthConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Core; Luxe $10,000, Pinnacle/VIP $50,000 per month
Cashback conditions
Rates step down progressively with total monthly spend · EUR transactions use lower thresholds and rates · Spend tiers reset at the start of every monthShow source
Rate set by the 30-day average assets held across Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro: 0.5% from €200, 1% from €1,000, 1.5% from €10,000, 2% from €50,000 · Metal card free from €/£50,000 average assetsShow source
Staking / holding required for top rewards
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Holding assets (not staking) sets the cashback tier
Staking asset
Any assets held at Krak, Kraken and Kraken ProShow source
Capital required for top rewards
€50,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
30-day average for the 2% tier
Reward expiry / vesting
Converted to ETHFI at settlement, locked for 7 days, then must be claimedShow source
Reward exclusions
ATM withdrawals and cash advances · P2P payments and transfers · Currency exchange services · Tax and government payments · Gift cards, stored-value cards, money orders and cash equivalents · MCC 6011, 6012, 6211, 6513 (rent), 6532, 7995 (gambling)Show source
Credit & financing
Credit line
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Borrow Mode
NoShow source
Credit type
Crypto-backed creditShow source
Collateral assets
USDC · USDT · EURC · frxUSD · weETH · WETH · eBTC · ETHFI · sETHFI · OP · WHYPE · beHYPE · liquidETH · liquidBTC · liquidUSD · liquidReserve · liquidEUR · liquidRWA · QQQx · SPYx · PAXG · TBLLxConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Aave LendGateway Product LTV list for the Optimism lending market (parameters updated August 27, 2026); eUSD no longer counts as collateral
Max loan-to-value
81%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Aave LendGateway Product LTV for USDC, USDT, EURC, frxUSD; volatile assets lower (weETH/WETH 55%, ETHFI/OP 20%); legacy Cash DebtManager LTV was 90% for stablecoins
Interest notes
Variable APY set by the underlying Aave v4 lending market per asset; accrues immediately and compounds continuouslyShow source
Grace period
None; interest accrues immediately after borrowingShow source
Repayment
Repay all or part of the outstanding balance at any time, without penalty, by means permitted in the Ether.Fi AccountShow source
Liquidation risk
YesShow source
Spend own balance directly
YesShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Spends directly from the Krak Everyday account balance
Spend by borrowing against collateral
YesShow source
Availability
Available in
AD, AO, AG, Argentina, Australia, Austria, BS, BH, BD, BB, BZ, BO, Brazil, VG, Bulgaria, Canada, KY, Chile, Colombia, CR, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, DM, DO, EC, SV, France, Germany, GI, Greece, GG, GT, GY, HN, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, IM, Italy, Japan, JE, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, MV, Malta, Mexico, MC, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, OM, PW, PA, PY, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, PR, Romania, Saudi Arabia, SC, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, KN, LC, VC, SR, Sweden, Switzerland, TW, Thailand, TT, TC, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, UY, VU, Belgium, Ireland, United StatesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Subject to KYC; Belgium and Ireland eligible but no physical card delivery; US only in listed states (AL, AK, AR, CA, CO, CT, DC, FL, HI, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, ME, MA, MI, MN, NE, NH, NJ, NY, NC, OK, PA, SC, TX, UT, VA, WV, WY); unlisted jurisdictions cannot apply for virtual or physical card
European Union, United KingdomConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Residents of the UK and the EU; a separate US card exists
Account / spend currencies
600+ currenciesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Spend in more than 600 currencies
Features
Apple Pay
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Only where Apple Pay is supported
YesShow source
Google Pay
YesShow source
Physical card
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Not shipped to every eligible region
YesShow source
Virtual card
YesShow source
YesShow source
ATM withdrawals
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Not permitted in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar
YesShow source
Spend stablecoins
YesShow source
Airport lounge access
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Core: 2 free passes to premium lounges; unlimited from Pinnacle
Travel / rental car insurance
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Auto rental coverage, shared across all memberships
Purchase protection
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Purchase and price protection, all memberships
Spendable assets
USDC · LiquidUSDConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Direct Pay Mode spend assets; Borrow Mode can use all vault assets as collateral
Blockchains
Ethereum · Polygon · Optimism · Arbitrum · ScrollConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Definition of Supported Blockchains in the card terms (page spells Arbitrum as 'Arbitrium'); other networks may be added
Limits
ATM limit
$25,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Per rolling 24 hours, same for all tiers; max $5,000 per transaction and 5 withdrawals per 24 hours
Security & custody
Regulation / licences
Ether.Fi states it is not licensed to provide financial services as part of the Card ServicesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Nigeria: card marketed by BANEX Microfinance Bank, licensed by the Central Bank of Nigeria; terms governed by Puerto Rico law
EEA: e-money by Payward Ireland Limited, regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland · EEA: card issuer UAB Monavate, licensed by the Bank of Lithuania (LB002139) · UK: card issuer Monavate Limited, FCA-authorised (FRN 901097) · UK: e-money and payment services by Payward Services Limited, FCA-authorised (FRN 1010381) · UK: Payward Ltd registered with the FCA as a cryptoasset business (FRN 928768)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
US: Payward Interactive, Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS #1843762) registered with FinCEN as an MSB
Deposit protection
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Account Balance Protection (Core up to $10K) is not yet live and is not deposit insurance
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
EEA e-money wallet is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme; UK: no FSCS protection; US: balances not FDIC or SIPC insured
Smart-contract risk
YesShow source
Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month
ether.fi Cash
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs−54 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costsunknown
- Cashback+540 EUR
- Net annual valuenot enough data
Krak Card
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costs+0 EUR
- Cashback+0 EUR
- Net annual value0 EUR
Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers