Krak Card
Debit card of Krak, Kraken's money app: spends from the Krak balance in 600+ currencies and pays up to 2% cashback in euros, pounds or bitcoin, depending on the average assets held across Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro. Mastercard issued by Monavate in the UK and EEA; a Visa version from Lead Bank exists in the US.
Base cashback
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Max cashback
2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Base fee
FreeShow source
FX fee
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
ATM fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Card fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Credit line
NoShow source
Staking needed
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Tap a value for its source. * = conditions apply.
At a glance
Pros
- No annual or monthly fee on the base tier
- No FX markup from the issuer
Cons
- Top rate of 2% only with conditions — Max tier: 30-day average assets of at least €/£50,000; up to 4% boosted on travel via Krak Concierge
- Higher rewards require staking or holding Any assets held at Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro
Good for
- Frequent travellers
Not for
- Users who insist on self-custody
- Anyone unwilling to lock up a platform token
Risks to understand
- Staking/holding requirements expose you to the price risk of the platform token.
- Custodial: your crypto is held by the provider — counterparty and insolvency risk.
★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link
The card we recommend as an alternative to Krak Card:
Crypto native · ether.fi
Why we recommend it
- 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
- 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
- No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
- Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
- Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply
Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.
All details
Fees10/15
- Annual fee
FreeShow source
- Monthly fee
FreeShow source
- Physical card fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Plastic card; replacement €4.99
- Virtual card fee
FreeShow source
- Replacement fee
€4.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Plastic card; metal card replacement €60
- FX fee
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
EEA/UK: Mastercard rate without markup; a variable spread applies when spending crypto. US card: 1%
- Top-up fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Bank transfer free; debit card and Apple/Google Pay deposits €0.25 + 3.75% (UK £0.25 + 3.75%); PayPal fees vary by region. US: linked bank (ACH) free, USD/CAD SWIFT wire $3, card deposits $0.25 + 3.75%, PayPal 3.39%
- ATM fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
No Krak fee; third-party ATM fees may apply
- Transfer fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Incoming and outgoing SEPA free (UK domestic transfers free); outgoing SWIFT: regional funding fees may apply; transfers between Krak accounts free. US: ACH in/out free
- Other fees & markups
Variable spread when spending crypto · AutoEarn fee: 30% of yield earned · Vault fee: 25% of yield earned · Small balance conversions: fixed 3% feeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Vault and AutoEarn fees are taken from yield; displayed APYs exclude them
Not yet researched: Crypto conversion fee, Crypto withdrawal fee, Free ATM allowance, Settlement fee, Small transaction fee.
Cashback & rewards9/14
- Base cashback
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Starter tier: under €200 average assets; 0.5% from €200
- Max cashback
2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Max tier: 30-day average assets of at least €/£50,000; up to 4% boosted on travel via Krak Concierge
- Cashback paid in
EUR, GBP or BTCShow source
- Cashback type
FiatConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Or bitcoin
- Interest on balance
3.6%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Up to; on eligible balances, variable
- Cashback conditions
Rate set by the 30-day average assets held across Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro: 0.5% from €200, 1% from €1,000, 1.5% from €10,000, 2% from €50,000 · Metal card free from €/£50,000 average assetsShow source
- Staking / holding required for top rewards
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Holding assets (not staking) sets the cashback tier
- Staking asset
Any assets held at Krak, Kraken and Kraken ProShow source
- Capital required for top rewards
€50,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
30-day average for the 2% tier
Not yet researched: Cashback-eligible spend cap, Max cashback per month, Minimum balance, Reward expiry / vesting, Reward exclusions.
Credit & financing2/11
- Credit line
NoShow source
- Spend own balance directly
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Spends directly from the Krak Everyday account balance
Not yet researched: Credit type, Collateral assets, Max loan-to-value, Interest (APR), Interest notes, Grace period, Repayment, Liquidation risk, Spend by borrowing against collateral.
Supported countries & currencies2/4
- Available in
European Union, United KingdomConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Residents of the UK and the EU; a separate US card exists
- Account / spend currencies
600+ currenciesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Spend in more than 600 currencies
Not yet researched: Not available in, Own IBAN / bank details.
Features, wallets & supported assets4/11
- Apple Pay
YesShow source
- Physical card
YesShow source
- Virtual card
YesShow source
- ATM withdrawals
YesShow source
Not yet researched: Google Pay, Spend stablecoins, Airport lounge access, Travel / rental car insurance, Purchase protection, Spendable assets, Blockchains.
Security & custody2/3
- Regulation / licences
EEA: e-money by Payward Ireland Limited, regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland · EEA: card issuer UAB Monavate, licensed by the Bank of Lithuania (LB002139) · UK: card issuer Monavate Limited, FCA-authorised (FRN 901097) · UK: e-money and payment services by Payward Services Limited, FCA-authorised (FRN 1010381) · UK: Payward Ltd registered with the FCA as a cryptoasset business (FRN 928768)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
US: Payward Interactive, Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS #1843762) registered with FinCEN as an MSB
- Deposit protection
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
EEA e-money wallet is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme; UK: no FSCS protection; US: balances not FDIC or SIPC insured
Not yet researched: Smart-contract risk.
Limits0/2
No limits data published or researched yet.
Product6/7
- Product status
ActiveShow source
- Card type
Debit cardShow source
- Network
MastercardConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
UK and EEA; the US card is a Visa
- Custody model
CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Card spends the Krak account balance (e-money and crypto held by Kraken)
- Card issuer / program manager
Monavate (UK) / UAB Monavate (EEA); e-money by Payward Ireland LimitedShow source
- Tiers / plans
Starter · Lite · Pro · Elite · MaxConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Cashback tier by 30-day average assets held
Not yet researched: Launch date.
Our rating
| Criterion | Weight | Score |
|---|---|---|
Fees Base-tier subscription ≈ €0/year · Per-transaction costs ≈ 0.00% | 20% | 100 |
Cashback & rewards Top rate requires staking/holding (−30 % on the max component) · Interest on balance 3.6% (variable) | 20% | 21 |
Availability 28 of 60 tracked countries | 15% | 93 |
FX & international FX fee 0% | 10% | 100 |
Product features 4 of 4 known features available · 0 of 3 perks (lounge, travel insurance, purchase protection) | 10% | 70 |
Custody & security Custody model: custodial · Regulated / protected (+15) | 10% | 75 |
Credit & financing No credit line | 5% | 30 |
Limits & ATM ATM cost on €200 ≈ 0.0% | 5% | 100 |
Transparency 8 of 8 checked key terms disclosed | 5% | 100 |
Data coverage 100%. Criteria without published data are excluded and their weight is filled with a neutral midpoint, so missing data neither helps nor hurts a card. This score is provisional: it is based on initial research that our research agent has not yet re-verified.
Computed by a fixed formula; affiliate relationships have no influence. How we score
FAQ
Does Krak Card have an annual or monthly fee?
Base tier: Free. Source: Debit card — Krak.
What is the FX fee of Krak Card?
0% (EEA/UK: Mastercard rate without markup; a variable spread applies when spending crypto. US card: 1%). Source: Krak pricing (US, EEA and UK service pricing).
How much cashback does Krak Card pay?
Base rate: 0% (Starter tier: under €200 average assets; 0.5% from €200). Highest advertised rate: 2% (Max tier: 30-day average assets of at least €/£50,000; up to 4% boosted on travel via Krak Concierge). Paid in EUR, GBP or BTC.
Is Krak Card a credit card?
No. It is a debit card; you spend your own balance.
Where is Krak Card available?
European Union, United Kingdom (Residents of the UK and the EU; a separate US card exists).
Is Krak Card self-custodial?
Custodial (Card spends the Krak account balance (e-money and crypto held by Kraken)).
Does Krak Card work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Apple Pay: Yes. Google Pay: no data.
Change history37 entries
- Deposit protection not disclosed → false · 25 October 2026 · approved
- Transfer fee not disclosed → {"percent":0} · 25 October 2026 · approved
- Top-up fee not disclosed → {"percent":0} · 25 October 2026 · approved
- Spend own balance directly not disclosed → true · 25 October 2026 · approved
- Account / spend currencies ["600+ currencies and assets"] → ["600+ currencies"] · 25 October 2026 · approved
- Other fees & markups ["Variable spread when spending crypto","AutoEarn fee: 30% of yield earned"] → ["Variable spread when spending crypto","AutoEarn fee: 30% of yield earned","Vault fee: 25% of yield earned","Small balance conversions: fixed 3% fee"] · 25 October 2026 · approved
- Regulation / licences not disclosed → ["EEA: e-money by Payward Ireland Limited, regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland","EEA: card issuer UAB Monavate, licensed by the Bank of Lithuania (LB002139)","UK: card issuer Monavate Limited, FCA-authorised (FRN 901097)","UK: e-money and payment services by Payward Services Limited, FCA-authorised (FRN 1010381)","UK: Payward Ltd registered with the FCA as a cryptoasset business (FRN 928768)"] · 25 October 2026 · approved
- Monthly fee recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Virtual card fee recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Physical card fee recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Replacement fee recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- FX fee recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- ATM fee recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Other fees & markups recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Base cashback recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Max cashback recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Cashback paid in recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Cashback type recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Product status recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Staking / holding required for top rewards recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Staking asset recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Capital required for top rewards recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Interest on balance recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Credit line recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
- Available in recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
