Brighty Card vs Trade Republic Card
Crypto native
Crypto enabled
Verdict
- Trade Republic Card scores higher overall (6.9 vs 6.6 out of 10).
- A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.
Brighty Card is a good fit for
- Stablecoin holders
Trade Republic Card is a good fit for
- Frequent travellers
★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link
Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:
Crypto native · ether.fi
Why we recommend it
- 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
- 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
- No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
- Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
- Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply
Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.
Score by criterion
| Criterion | Brighty Card | Trade Republic Card |
|---|---|---|
| Fees | 100 | 100 |
| Cashback & rewards | – | 24 |
| Availability | – | 57 |
| FX & international | – | 100 |
| Product features | 70 | 70 |
| Custody & security | 75 | 75 |
| Credit & financing | 30 | 30 |
| Limits & ATM | – | 90 |
| Transparency | 100 | 100 |
| Best for Cashback | n/a | 5.4 |
| Best for Travel | n/a | 8.4 |
| Best for DeFi Users | 6.7 | n/a |
| Best for Stablecoins | 7.3 | n/a |
| Best for High Spenders | n/a | 6.0 |
| Best for Low Fees | 8.0 | 9.9 |
| Best for Beginners | 7.8 | 7.6 |
| Best E-Money Card | n/a | 9.0 |
Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.
Product
Product status
ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source
Card type
Debit cardShow source
Debit cardShow source
Network
MastercardShow source
VisaShow source
Custody model
CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Custody by licensed partners, secured with Fireblocks
CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
The provider holds the funds
Card issuer / program manager
BTY Digital AG with licensed partnersShow source
Trade Republic Bank GmbHShow source
Tiers / plans
Brighty One (free) · Brighty Plus · Brighty ProShow source
Virtual · Classic · MirrorShow source
Fees
Monthly fee
FreeShow source
Physical card fee
€5Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Classic card, one-time delivery fee (again on renewal or replacement); Mirror card 50 €
Virtual card fee
FreeShow source
FX fee
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Visa exchange rate without a Trade Republic currency exchange fee
Top-up fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Deposits of EUR, GBP, USD or crypto via SEPA, Faster Payments and FedWire; page does not state fees for other top-up methods
ATM fee
€1Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Only for withdrawals below 100 €; from 100 € free with the Classic and Mirror cards; ATM operators may charge their own fee
Other fees & markups
Cashback redemption may be subject to network, transaction or exchange fees and conversion costsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Amounts not stated on this page; conditions are displayed in the app
Cashback & rewards
Base cashback
1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Saveback on up to 1,500 € of eligible card spend per month, paid into your savings plan
Max cashback
2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Crypto Saveback when paying with crypto; same 1,500 € monthly cap; crypto-funded payments count as a sale
Cashback paid in
Supported stablecoins (e.g. USDC)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Redemption forms are displayed in the app and may also include other reward forms made available by BTY
Invested into a savings plan asset of your choiceShow source
Cashback type
StablecoinConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Cashback balance redeemable in supported stablecoins such as USDC
FiatConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Paid by Trade Republic directly into your savings plan (invested)
Cashback-eligible spend cap
€1,500/monthShow source
Max cashback per month
€15/monthShow source
Cashback conditions
Rates vary by merchant, merchant category, country, subscription plan, reward tier, campaign or promotional period and are shown in the app · Calculated on the final settled amount; cashback stays provisional until the transaction is settled · Most cashback credited within 5 business days after settlement; some merchants or schemes need up to 90 days or longer · Personal use only; not for business, commercial or bulk purchasing · Redemption may be subject to minimum thresholds and daily, monthly or other limitsShow source
Saveback must be activated · Invest at least 50 EUR per calendar month in weekly, bi-weekly or monthly savings plans (quarterly plans don't qualify) · First activation requires setting up a 50 EUR savings plan for the next monthShow source
Reward expiry / vesting
Cashback does not expire unless an expiry period is communicated in the app, programme rules or another durable communicationShow source
Invested on the 2nd of the following month; expires if the savings-plan requirements were not met in the previous monthShow source
Reward exclusions
Card-to-card transfers · ATM and other cash withdrawals · Gambling and betting transactions · Money transfers · Wallet or account top-ups · Quasi-cash transactions · Financial services transactions · Tax and certain government payments · Cryptocurrency or digital asset purchases, unless expressly permitted · Excluded MCCs (financial & money services): 4829, 6010, 6011, 6012, 6050, 6051, 6211, 6300, 6513, 6529, 6530, 6532, 6533, 6536, 6537, 6538, 6540, 6760, 8999 · Excluded MCCs (gambling & betting): 7800, 7801, 7802, 7995 · Excluded MCCs (government & tax payments): 9211, 9222, 9223, 9311, 9399, 9402, 9405, 9411 · Excluded MCC (utilities & essential services): 4900 · Excluded MCCs (retail & miscellaneous): 5734, 5947, 7349, 7372, 8062, 8398, 8651, 8661 · Transactions via Curve cards or equivalent pass-through, intermediary or wallet-routing services · Refunded, reversed, cancelled, disputed or charged-back transactionsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
List is "without limitation"; BTY may update excluded categories or MCCs
Credit & financing
Credit line
NoShow source
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
debit card
Availability
Available in
Germany, Austria, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Finland, Ireland, Greece, Portugal, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovenia, SlovakiaConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Trade Republic account; permanent residents only; France including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion and Saint-Martin
Account / spend currencies
EUR · USD · GBP · USDC · EURC · ETH · BTCConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Account/wallet currencies in the Brighty app; page adds 'and more' for both fiat and crypto
Own IBAN / bank details
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Named IBANs for EUR, GBP and USD
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
personal IBAN for deposits
Features
Apple Pay
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Stated as a footer link under Payments
YesShow source
Google Pay
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Stated as a footer link under Payments
YesShow source
Physical card
YesShow source
Virtual card
YesShow source
ATM withdrawals
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Classic and Mirror cards
Spend stablecoins
YesShow source
Security & custody
Regulation / licences
BTY Digital AG affiliated with VQF, a Swiss self-regulatory organisation recognised by FINMA under the AMLA (membership no. 100917)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Applies to BTY Digital AG (Baar, Switzerland), operator of the Brighty Cashback Programme; the page footer says payment cards are provided by licensed partners
CRR credit institution · BaFinConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
supervised by BaFin, BaFin-ID 10150368
Deposit protection
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Cash in omnibus trust accounts at partner banks, protected up to 100,000 € per customer; securities are not covered
Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month
Brighty Card
- Annual & monthly feesunknown
- FX costsunknown
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costsunknown
- Cashbackunknown
- Net annual valuenot enough data
Trade Republic Card
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costs−12 EUR
- Cashback+180 EUR
- Net annual value168 EUR
Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers