savebackcards.com

Brighty Card vs Krak Card

Brighty Card

Crypto native

6.6
Krak Card

Crypto native

7.4

Verdict

  • Krak Card scores higher overall (7.4 vs 6.6 out of 10).
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Brighty Card is a good fit for

  • Stablecoin holders

Krak Card is a good fit for

  • Frequent travellers

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionBrighty CardKrak Card
Fees100100
Cashback & rewards–21
Availability–93
FX & international–100
Product features7070
Custody & security7575
Credit & financing3030
Limits & ATM–100
Transparency100100
Best for Cashbackn/a5.7
Best for Traveln/a8.8
Best for DeFi Users6.76.3
Best for Stablecoins7.3n/a
Best for High Spendersn/a6.0
Best for Low Fees8.010.0
Best for Beginners7.88.1

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Debit cardShow source

Network

MastercardShow source
MastercardConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

UK and EEA; the US card is a Visa

Custody model

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Custody by licensed partners, secured with Fireblocks

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Card spends the Krak account balance (e-money and crypto held by Kraken)

Card issuer / program manager

BTY Digital AG with licensed partnersShow source
Monavate (UK) / UAB Monavate (EEA); e-money by Payward Ireland LimitedShow source

Tiers / plans

Brighty One (free) · Brighty Plus · Brighty ProShow source
Starter · Lite · Pro · Elite · MaxConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback tier by 30-day average assets held

Fees

Annual fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

Monthly fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

Physical card fee

No data yet
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plastic card; replacement €4.99

Virtual card fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

Replacement fee

No data yet
€4.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plastic card; metal card replacement €60

FX fee

No data yet
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

EEA/UK: Mastercard rate without markup; a variable spread applies when spending crypto. US card: 1%

Top-up fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Deposits of EUR, GBP, USD or crypto via SEPA, Faster Payments and FedWire; page does not state fees for other top-up methods

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Bank transfer free; debit card and Apple/Google Pay deposits €0.25 + 3.75% (UK £0.25 + 3.75%); PayPal fees vary by region. US: linked bank (ACH) free, USD/CAD SWIFT wire $3, card deposits $0.25 + 3.75%, PayPal 3.39%

ATM fee

No data yet
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

No Krak fee; third-party ATM fees may apply

Transfer fee

No data yet
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Incoming and outgoing SEPA free (UK domestic transfers free); outgoing SWIFT: regional funding fees may apply; transfers between Krak accounts free. US: ACH in/out free

Other fees & markups

Cashback redemption may be subject to network, transaction or exchange fees and conversion costsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Amounts not stated on this page; conditions are displayed in the app

Variable spread when spending crypto · AutoEarn fee: 30% of yield earned · Vault fee: 25% of yield earned · Small balance conversions: fixed 3% feeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Vault and AutoEarn fees are taken from yield; displayed APYs exclude them

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

No data yet
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Starter tier: under €200 average assets; 0.5% from €200

Max cashback

No data yet
2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Max tier: 30-day average assets of at least €/£50,000; up to 4% boosted on travel via Krak Concierge

Cashback paid in

Supported stablecoins (e.g. USDC)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Redemption forms are displayed in the app and may also include other reward forms made available by BTY

EUR, GBP or BTCShow source

Cashback type

StablecoinConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback balance redeemable in supported stablecoins such as USDC

FiatConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Or bitcoin

Interest on balance

No data yet
3.6%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to; on eligible balances, variable

Cashback conditions

Rates vary by merchant, merchant category, country, subscription plan, reward tier, campaign or promotional period and are shown in the app · Calculated on the final settled amount; cashback stays provisional until the transaction is settled · Most cashback credited within 5 business days after settlement; some merchants or schemes need up to 90 days or longer · Personal use only; not for business, commercial or bulk purchasing · Redemption may be subject to minimum thresholds and daily, monthly or other limitsShow source
Rate set by the 30-day average assets held across Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro: 0.5% from €200, 1% from €1,000, 1.5% from €10,000, 2% from €50,000 · Metal card free from €/£50,000 average assetsShow source

Staking / holding required for top rewards

No data yet
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Holding assets (not staking) sets the cashback tier

Staking asset

No data yet
Any assets held at Krak, Kraken and Kraken ProShow source

Capital required for top rewards

No data yet
€50,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

30-day average for the 2% tier

Reward expiry / vesting

Cashback does not expire unless an expiry period is communicated in the app, programme rules or another durable communicationShow source
No data yet

Reward exclusions

Card-to-card transfers · ATM and other cash withdrawals · Gambling and betting transactions · Money transfers · Wallet or account top-ups · Quasi-cash transactions · Financial services transactions · Tax and certain government payments · Cryptocurrency or digital asset purchases, unless expressly permitted · Excluded MCCs (financial & money services): 4829, 6010, 6011, 6012, 6050, 6051, 6211, 6300, 6513, 6529, 6530, 6532, 6533, 6536, 6537, 6538, 6540, 6760, 8999 · Excluded MCCs (gambling & betting): 7800, 7801, 7802, 7995 · Excluded MCCs (government & tax payments): 9211, 9222, 9223, 9311, 9399, 9402, 9405, 9411 · Excluded MCC (utilities & essential services): 4900 · Excluded MCCs (retail & miscellaneous): 5734, 5947, 7349, 7372, 8062, 8398, 8651, 8661 · Transactions via Curve cards or equivalent pass-through, intermediary or wallet-routing services · Refunded, reversed, cancelled, disputed or charged-back transactionsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

List is "without limitation"; BTY may update excluded categories or MCCs

No data yet

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoShow source
NoShow source

Spend own balance directly

No data yet
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Spends directly from the Krak Everyday account balance

Availability

Available in

No data yet
European Union, United KingdomConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Residents of the UK and the EU; a separate US card exists

Account / spend currencies

EUR · USD · GBP · USDC · EURC · ETH · BTCConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Account/wallet currencies in the Brighty app; page adds 'and more' for both fiat and crypto

600+ currenciesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Spend in more than 600 currencies

Own IBAN / bank details

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Named IBANs for EUR, GBP and USD

No data yet

Features

Apple Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Stated as a footer link under Payments

YesShow source

Google Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Stated as a footer link under Payments

No data yet

Physical card

No data yet
YesShow source

Virtual card

No data yet
YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

No data yet
YesShow source

Spend stablecoins

YesShow source
No data yet

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

BTY Digital AG affiliated with VQF, a Swiss self-regulatory organisation recognised by FINMA under the AMLA (membership no. 100917)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Applies to BTY Digital AG (Baar, Switzerland), operator of the Brighty Cashback Programme; the page footer says payment cards are provided by licensed partners

EEA: e-money by Payward Ireland Limited, regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland · EEA: card issuer UAB Monavate, licensed by the Bank of Lithuania (LB002139) · UK: card issuer Monavate Limited, FCA-authorised (FRN 901097) · UK: e-money and payment services by Payward Services Limited, FCA-authorised (FRN 1010381) · UK: Payward Ltd registered with the FCA as a cryptoasset business (FRN 928768)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

US: Payward Interactive, Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS #1843762) registered with FinCEN as an MSB

Deposit protection

No data yet
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

EEA e-money wallet is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme; UK: no FSCS protection; US: balances not FDIC or SIPC insured

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Brighty Card

  • Annual & monthly feesunknown
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Krak Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs+0 EUR
  • Cashback+0 EUR
  • Net annual value0 EUR

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers