savebackcards.com

Brighty Card vs Ethena Pay Spend Card

Brighty Card

Crypto native

6.6
7.6

Verdict

  • Ethena Pay Spend Card scores higher overall (7.6 vs 6.6 out of 10).
  • Brighty Card is clearly stronger on: Product features.
  • Ethena Pay Spend Card is clearly stronger on: Credit & financing.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Brighty Card is a good fit for

  • Stablecoin holders

Stronger on: Product features

Ethena Pay Spend Card is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card
  • Everyday spenders who want cashback

Stronger on: Credit & financing

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionBrighty CardEthena Pay Spend Card
Fees100100
Cashback & rewards–89
Availability–53
FX & international–60
Product features7053
Custody & security7570
Credit & financing3075
Limits & ATM–78
Transparency10093
Best for Cashbackn/a8.2
Best for Traveln/a7.2
Best for Self-Custodyn/a7.6
Best for DeFi Users6.77.8
Best for Stablecoins7.3n/a
Best for High Spendersn/a8.2
Best for Low Fees8.08.6
Best for Beginners7.87.6
Best Crypto Credit Cardn/a8.2

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Beta; live in 48 countries, more announced

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Crypto-backed creditConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Secured: collateral in your linked self-custodial wallet secures card charges

Network

MastercardShow source
VisaShow source

Custody model

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Custody by licensed partners, secured with Fireblocks

Self-custodyShow source

Card issuer / program manager

BTY Digital AG with licensed partnersShow source
Third National (issuer); program managed by Signify Holdings, Inc. d/b/a Rain; access via Ethena Pay Ltd. (Malta)Show source

Tiers / plans

Brighty One (free) · Brighty Plus · Brighty ProShow source
Standard · Pro · VIPShow source

Fees

Annual fee

No data yet
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

No recurring subscription or account fees for a standard account

Monthly fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

Virtual card fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

Replacement fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

FX fee

No data yet
1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Card-network conversion fee passed through at cost, typically around 1% and varying by currency; no Ethena Pay markup; USD spend has no conversion cost

Top-up fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Deposits of EUR, GBP, USD or crypto via SEPA, Faster Payments and FedWire; page does not state fees for other top-up methods

No data yet

ATM fee

No data yet
$1 + 0.65%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only where ATM access is available; ATM operator surcharges extra

Other fees & markups

Cashback redemption may be subject to network, transaction or exchange fees and conversion costsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Amounts not stated on this page; conditions are displayed in the app

Late payment fee up to $40 · Returned payment fee $29 · ATM operator surcharges · Gas fees of liquidation transactions paid from collateralShow source

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

No data yet
4%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard tier on the first $2,500 of monthly spend; 1% from $2,500 to $4,000; 0% above

Max cashback

No data yet
5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

VIP tier on the first $20,000 of monthly spend; Pro 4.5% on the first $8,000

Cashback paid in

Supported stablecoins (e.g. USDC)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Redemption forms are displayed in the app and may also include other reward forms made available by BTY

AVAXShow source

Cashback type

StablecoinConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback balance redeemable in supported stablecoins such as USDC

CryptoShow source

Interest on balance

No data yet
6%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to 6% on dollar balance, variable; the Boost portion only up to the tier's Boost Cap and requires at least one qualifying card transaction per month

Cashback-eligible spend cap

No data yet
$2,500/monthConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard: headline rate on the first $2,500 per calendar month; Pro $8,000, VIP $20,000; lower rates above

Cashback conditions

Rates vary by merchant, merchant category, country, subscription plan, reward tier, campaign or promotional period and are shown in the app · Calculated on the final settled amount; cashback stays provisional until the transaction is settled · Most cashback credited within 5 business days after settlement; some merchants or schemes need up to 90 days or longer · Personal use only; not for business, commercial or bulk purchasing · Redemption may be subject to minimum thresholds and daily, monthly or other limitsShow source
Rate depends on tier and steps down with monthly spend (bands reset each calendar month) · Transactions under $1.00 earn no cashback · Paid daily after the transaction settlesShow source

Reward expiry / vesting

Cashback does not expire unless an expiry period is communicated in the app, programme rules or another durable communicationShow source
No data yet

Reward exclusions

Card-to-card transfers · ATM and other cash withdrawals · Gambling and betting transactions · Money transfers · Wallet or account top-ups · Quasi-cash transactions · Financial services transactions · Tax and certain government payments · Cryptocurrency or digital asset purchases, unless expressly permitted · Excluded MCCs (financial & money services): 4829, 6010, 6011, 6012, 6050, 6051, 6211, 6300, 6513, 6529, 6530, 6532, 6533, 6536, 6537, 6538, 6540, 6760, 8999 · Excluded MCCs (gambling & betting): 7800, 7801, 7802, 7995 · Excluded MCCs (government & tax payments): 9211, 9222, 9223, 9311, 9399, 9402, 9405, 9411 · Excluded MCC (utilities & essential services): 4900 · Excluded MCCs (retail & miscellaneous): 5734, 5947, 7349, 7372, 8062, 8398, 8651, 8661 · Transactions via Curve cards or equivalent pass-through, intermediary or wallet-routing services · Refunded, reversed, cancelled, disputed or charged-back transactionsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

List is "without limitation"; BTY may update excluded categories or MCCs

Cash advances, ATM withdrawals, money orders, traveler's checks and cash equivalents · Purchases of crypto, stablecoins, NFTs, securities, foreign currency · Gambling, wagering, lottery, gaming · Gift card and stored-value purchases · Peer-to-peer transfers and remittances · Account funding, loan/credit repayments, balance transfers, insurance premiums · Fees, taxes, fines and payments to government agencies · Returned, refunded or charged-back transactionsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Eligibility follows the MCC assigned by the card network

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Secured by your own collateral

Credit type

No data yet
Crypto-backed creditShow source

Interest (APR)

No data yet
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Purchases; issuer and Ethena Pay may introduce interest on new purchases with prior notice

Interest notes

No data yet
Currently 0% interest on all purchases; Issuer and Ethena Pay may introduce interest on new purchases in future with prior disclosureShow source

Grace period

No data yet
Outstanding payment obligation must be paid within one calendar day, otherwise a Liquidation Event occurs; additional grace period at discretionShow source

Repayment

No data yet
Repay Ethena Pay for card charges per User Agreement by permitted means in the Ethena Pay Account; prepayment without penaltyShow source

Liquidation risk

No data yet
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Collateral can be liquidated after a Liquidation Event (e.g. unpaid charges)

Availability

Available in

No data yet
Argentina, BZ, BO, Brazil, Colombia, CR, EC, SV, GT, GY, HN, Mexico, PA, PY, Peru, SR, UY, AG, BS, BB, KY, DM, DO, GD, KN, LC, VC, TT, TC, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, PK, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, CI, EG, GH, Kenya, MA, SN, South Africa, UG, ZM, Australia, New ZealandConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Beta. Announced as coming soon: USA, EU, UK, Switzerland, Canada, Taiwan, South Korea

Not available in

No data yet
United StatesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Not available to U.S. citizens, U.S. residents or other U.S. persons; other restricted jurisdictions per Ethena Pay Terms of Use

Account / spend currencies

EUR · USD · GBP · USDC · EURC · ETH · BTCConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Account/wallet currencies in the Brighty app; page adds 'and more' for both fiat and crypto

No data yet

Own IBAN / bank details

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Named IBANs for EUR, GBP and USD

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Virtual account (IBAN) not yet available in BB, JP, MY, PK, MA, SN, UG, AU, NZ

Features

Apple Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Stated as a footer link under Payments

YesShow source

Google Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Stated as a footer link under Payments

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Announced as available soon

Virtual card

No data yet
YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

No data yet
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Availability limited and depends on card, device and country

Spend stablecoins

YesShow source
No data yet

Blockchains

No data yet
Ethereum · Polygon · Optimism · ArbitrumConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Supported blockchains for collateral; list may be updated by issuer

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

BTY Digital AG affiliated with VQF, a Swiss self-regulatory organisation recognised by FINMA under the AMLA (membership no. 100917)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Applies to BTY Digital AG (Baar, Switzerland), operator of the Brighty Cashback Programme; the page footer says payment cards are provided by licensed partners

No data yet

Deposit protection

No data yet
NoShow source

Smart-contract risk

No data yet
YesShow source

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Brighty Card

  • Annual & monthly feesunknown
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Ethena Pay Spend Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs−36 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−19 EUR
  • Cashback+720 EUR
  • Net annual value665 EUR

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers