savebackcards.com

Brighty Card vs bunq

Brighty Card

Crypto native

6.6
bunq

E-money / FinTech

7.2

Verdict

  • bunq scores higher overall (7.2 vs 6.6 out of 10).
  • Brighty Card is clearly stronger on: Transparency.
  • bunq is clearly stronger on: Credit & financing.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Brighty Card is a good fit for

  • Stablecoin holders

Stronger on: Transparency

bunq is a good fit for

  • Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card
  • Frequent travellers

Stronger on: Credit & financing

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionBrighty Cardbunq
Fees100100
Cashback & rewards–16
Availability–90
FX & international–100
Product features7070
Custody & security7575
Credit & financing3070
Limits & ATM–70
Transparency10086
Best for Cashbackn/a5.2
Best for Traveln/a8.2
Best for DeFi Users6.7n/a
Best for Stablecoins7.3n/a
Best for High Spendersn/a5.8
Best for Low Fees8.09.3
Best for Beginners7.87.7
Best Crypto Credit Cardn/a6.8
Best E-Money Cardn/a8.9

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Debit card, Credit cardConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Debit Card or Credit Card; Credit Card can pay from own money or with an optional Credit Limit

Network

MastercardShow source
MastercardShow source

Custody model

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Custody by licensed partners, secured with Fireblocks

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

The provider holds the funds

Card issuer / program manager

BTY Digital AG with licensed partnersShow source
bunq B.V.Show source

Tiers / plans

Brighty One (free) · Brighty Plus · Brighty ProShow source
Free €0 · Core €3.99/mo · Pro €9.99/mo · Elite €18.99/moShow source

Fees

Monthly fee

No data yet
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Free plan; Core €3.99, Pro €9.99, Elite €18.99 per month

Physical card fee

No data yet
€99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Metal card on Pro and Elite; extra physical cards €9.99 plus a monthly fee

Virtual card fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

FX fee

No data yet
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

ZeroFX card payments abroad: Free plan up to €1,000 per year (fee beyond not stated on this page); Core, Pro, Elite unlimited

Top-up fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Deposits of EUR, GBP, USD or crypto via SEPA, Faster Payments and FedWire; page does not state fees for other top-up methods

No data yet

ATM fee

No data yet
€2.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Free plan: €2.99 each; Core/Pro/Elite: €0.99 for the first 5/month, then €2.99; Pro and Elite include 6 free withdrawals/month

Other fees & markups

Cashback redemption may be subject to network, transaction or exchange fees and conversion costsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Amounts not stated on this page; conditions are displayed in the app

Metal card €99 per card (Pro/Elite)Show source

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

No data yet
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Programme ended 7 Dec 2025; partner cashback offers still available

Max cashback

No data yet
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback programme ended 7 Dec 2025 (previously Elite/Business credit card); partner cashback offers still available

Cashback paid in

Supported stablecoins (e.g. USDC)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Redemption forms are displayed in the app and may also include other reward forms made available by BTY

No data yet

Cashback type

StablecoinConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback balance redeemable in supported stablecoins such as USDC

NoneConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback programme ended on 7 December 2025

Interest on balance

No data yet
3.11%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Savings interest included in every plan incl. Free; variable

Cashback conditions

Rates vary by merchant, merchant category, country, subscription plan, reward tier, campaign or promotional period and are shown in the app · Calculated on the final settled amount; cashback stays provisional until the transaction is settled · Most cashback credited within 5 business days after settlement; some merchants or schemes need up to 90 days or longer · Personal use only; not for business, commercial or bulk purchasing · Redemption may be subject to minimum thresholds and daily, monthly or other limitsShow source
No data yet

Reward expiry / vesting

Cashback does not expire unless an expiry period is communicated in the app, programme rules or another durable communicationShow source
No data yet

Reward exclusions

Card-to-card transfers · ATM and other cash withdrawals · Gambling and betting transactions · Money transfers · Wallet or account top-ups · Quasi-cash transactions · Financial services transactions · Tax and certain government payments · Cryptocurrency or digital asset purchases, unless expressly permitted · Excluded MCCs (financial & money services): 4829, 6010, 6011, 6012, 6050, 6051, 6211, 6300, 6513, 6529, 6530, 6532, 6533, 6536, 6537, 6538, 6540, 6760, 8999 · Excluded MCCs (gambling & betting): 7800, 7801, 7802, 7995 · Excluded MCCs (government & tax payments): 9211, 9222, 9223, 9311, 9399, 9402, 9405, 9411 · Excluded MCC (utilities & essential services): 4900 · Excluded MCCs (retail & miscellaneous): 5734, 5947, 7349, 7372, 8062, 8398, 8651, 8661 · Transactions via Curve cards or equivalent pass-through, intermediary or wallet-routing services · Refunded, reversed, cancelled, disputed or charged-back transactionsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

List is "without limitation"; BTY may update excluded categories or MCCs

No data yet

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Optional Credit Limit on the Credit Card

Spend own balance directly

No data yet
YesShow source

Availability

Available in

No data yet
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, SwedenConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

bunq personal account (all bunq cards require one): citizens and residents of the listed supported EEA countries; non-EU citizens living there may also sign up with suitable documents. Overseas regions/territories excluded. Minors allowed with guardian permission.

Not available in

No data yet
AW, BQ, CW, PF, TF, GL, NC, BL, PM, SX, WF, GF, GP, MQ, YT, REConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Residents of Overseas Countries and Territories (Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, Greenland, New Caledonia, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Wallis and Futuna) and French overseas regions (French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion) cannot currently open an account. Non-EEA residents can join a country waitlist.

Account / spend currencies

EUR · USD · GBP · USDC · EURC · ETH · BTCConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Account/wallet currencies in the Brighty app; page adds 'and more' for both fiat and crypto

No data yet

Own IBAN / bank details

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Named IBANs for EUR, GBP and USD

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Free 3, Core 5, Pro/Elite 25 accounts; local IBAN in your country on all plans

Features

Apple Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Stated as a footer link under Payments

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

All plans

Google Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Stated as a footer link under Payments

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

All plans

Physical card

No data yet
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Not on Free plan; Core 1 included, Pro/Elite 3 included

Virtual card

No data yet
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Free/Core 1 digital card, Pro/Elite 25

ATM withdrawals

No data yet
YesShow source

Spend stablecoins

YesShow source
No data yet

Travel / rental car insurance

No data yet
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only bunq Elite plan

Limits

ATM limit

No data yet
€1,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Personal accounts, per calendar day per person, for accounts verified 3 months or longer; €250 per day for accounts verified less than 3 months ago. Business: €1,000 per card per day.

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

BTY Digital AG affiliated with VQF, a Swiss self-regulatory organisation recognised by FINMA under the AMLA (membership no. 100917)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Applies to BTY Digital AG (Baar, Switzerland), operator of the Brighty Cashback Programme; the page footer says payment cards are provided by licensed partners

Full European banking licence issued by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB)Show source

Deposit protection

No data yet
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to €100,000 via the Dutch Deposit Guarantee Scheme

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Brighty Card

  • Annual & monthly feesunknown
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

bunq

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−36 EUR
  • Cashback+0 EUR
  • Net annual value-36 EUR

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers