savebackcards.com

Rizon Card vs Uphold Debit Card (US)

Rizon Card

Crypto native

6.6
5.6

Verdict

  • Rizon Card scores higher overall (6.6 vs 5.6 out of 10).
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Rizon Card is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Stablecoin holders
  • Everyday spenders who want cashback

Uphold Debit Card (US) is a good fit for

  • Stablecoin holders
  • Everyday spenders who want cashback

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionRizon CardUphold Debit Card (US)
Fees10099
Cashback & rewards5150
Availability–3
FX & international3240
Product features7070
Custody & security80–
Credit & financing–30
Limits & ATM–74
Transparency100100
Best for Cashback6.25.7
Best for Travel5.65.7
Best for Self-Custody7.4n/a
Best for DeFi Users7.05.8
Best for Stablecoins7.16.7
Best for High Spenders5.96.0
Best for Low Fees7.68.1
Best for Beginners7.86.8

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Debit cardShow source

Network

VisaConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Visa Platinum

VisaShow source

Custody model

Self-custodyConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Wallet powered by Privy; private keys stay with the user

No data yet

Card issuer / program manager

Signify Holdings Inc. and Nimbus LLC (Rain)Show source
No data yet

Tiers / plans

Standard · Rizon Emerald (from $5.59/month)Show source
Essential (no annual fee) · Elite ($99.99/year)Show source

Fees

Annual fee

No data yet
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Essential; Elite $99.99/year

Monthly fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Account maintenance; optional Rizon Emerald subscription from $5.59/month

No data yet

Physical card fee

Not disclosedConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Shown in the app only

$4.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Essential

Virtual card fee

Not disclosedConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Shown in the app only

No data yet

FX fee

1.7%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plus $0.10 per non-USD card transaction; 1.02% with Rizon Emerald; USD spend free

1.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Essential; Elite has no foreign transaction fees

Top-up fee

FreeShow source
No data yet

Crypto withdrawal fee

0.1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plus network fee (on-chain withdrawal)

No data yet

ATM fee

No data yet
$2.95Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Essential; Elite has no ATM fees

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

2.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

On eligible purchases

2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Essential, paid in XRP

Max cashback

2.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Metal card with bigger cashback announced as coming soon

4%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Elite ($99.99/yr) on crypto- or metal-funded purchases; 3% when funded by fiat or stablecoins

Cashback paid in

No data yet
XRP (or other crypto at Uphold's discretion)Show source

Cashback type

No data yet
CryptoShow source

Interest on balance

No data yet
3%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to 3% APY on stablecoin balances; variable; no paid plan stated on page

Max cashback per month

No data yet
$120/monthConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Essential; Elite $300/month

Cashback conditions

RizPoints on every purchase, redeemable for rewardsShow source
No data yet

Credit & financing

Credit line

No data yet
NoShow source

Availability

Available in

No data yet
United StatesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Not in Louisiana, New York or US territories

Features

Apple Pay

YesShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

When available

Google Pay

YesShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

When available

Physical card

YesShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Essential: plastic $4.99; Elite: metal $0

Virtual card

YesShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Essential and Elite: $0

ATM withdrawals

YesShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Essential: $2.95 per withdrawal; Elite: $0

Spend stablecoins

YesShow source
YesShow source

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

No data yet
USD balances held at Cross River Bank, Member FDIC (pass-through insurance up to $250,000 if conditions are met) · Uphold is not a bankShow source

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Rizon Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs−61 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashback+450 EUR
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Uphold Debit Card (US)

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs−54 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−32 EUR
  • Cashback+360 EUR
  • Net annual value274 EUR

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers