savebackcards.com

Krak Card vs N26

Krak Card

Crypto native

7.4
N26

E-money / FinTech

6.2

Verdict

  • Krak Card scores higher overall (7.4 vs 6.2 out of 10).
  • Krak Card is clearly stronger on: Fees, Cashback & rewards, Availability, Limits & ATM.
  • For 1,500 EUR/month of spend, Krak Card comes out about 20 EUR a year ahead on base-tier terms.

Krak Card is a good fit for

  • Frequent travellers

Stronger on: Fees, Cashback & rewards, Availability, Limits & ATM

N26 is a good fit for

  • Frequent travellers

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionKrak CardN26
Fees10082
Cashback & rewards214
Availability9370
FX & international100100
Product features7070
Custody & security7575
Credit & financing3030
Limits & ATM10066
Transparency10093
Best for Cashback5.74.1
Best for Travel8.87.6
Best for DeFi Users6.3n/a
Best for High Spenders6.04.7
Best for Low Fees10.08.6
Best for Beginners8.17.1
Best E-Money Cardn/a8.2

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Debit cardShow source

Network

MastercardConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

UK and EEA; the US card is a Visa

MastercardShow source

Custody model

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Card spends the Krak account balance (e-money and crypto held by Kraken)

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

The provider holds the funds

Card issuer / program manager

Monavate (UK) / UAB Monavate (EEA); e-money by Payward Ireland LimitedShow source
No data yet

Tiers / plans

Starter · Lite · Pro · Elite · MaxConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback tier by 30-day average assets held

Standard · Smart · Go · MetalShow source

Fees

Annual fee

FreeShow source
No data yet

Monthly fee

FreeShow source
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard account

Physical card fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plastic card; replacement €4.99

€10Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard plan; included in Smart, Go and Metal

Virtual card fee

FreeShow source
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

First virtual card free on Standard

Replacement fee

€4.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plastic card; metal card replacement €60

No data yet

FX fee

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

EEA/UK: Mastercard rate without markup; a variable spread applies when spending crypto. US card: 1%

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Page lists worldwide card payments as free on all plans; exchange rate not stated on this page

Crypto conversion fee

No data yet
1.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

N26 Crypto (Bitpanda) trading fee for Bitcoin; 2.5% for other coins, 3.5% for low-liquidity coins; N26 Metal 0.5% discount up to €5,000 order volume per month

Top-up fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Bank transfer free; debit card and Apple/Google Pay deposits €0.25 + 3.75% (UK £0.25 + 3.75%); PayPal fees vary by region. US: linked bank (ACH) free, USD/CAD SWIFT wire $3, card deposits $0.25 + 3.75%, PayPal 3.39%

No data yet

ATM fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

No Krak fee; third-party ATM fees may apply

1.7%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Withdrawals outside the eurozone on Standard and Smart; free on Go and Metal. Euro withdrawals: 2 free per month on Standard (3 Smart, 5 Go, 8 Metal); fee beyond the quota not stated on this page

Transfer fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Incoming and outgoing SEPA free (UK domestic transfers free); outgoing SWIFT: regional funding fees may apply; transfers between Krak accounts free. US: ACH in/out free

No data yet

Other fees & markups

Variable spread when spending crypto · AutoEarn fee: 30% of yield earned · Vault fee: 25% of yield earned · Small balance conversions: fixed 3% feeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Vault and AutoEarn fees are taken from yield; displayed APYs exclude them

N26 Standard: one-off fee covering delivery of a physical debit card (amount not stated)Show source

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Starter tier: under €200 average assets; 0.5% from €200

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard: no cashback; Go and Metal get 1% travel cashback

Max cashback

2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Max tier: 30-day average assets of at least €/£50,000; up to 4% boosted on travel via Krak Concierge

1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Travel cashback on Go (9.90 €/month) and Metal (16.90 €/month) only

Cashback paid in

EUR, GBP or BTCShow source
No data yet

Cashback type

FiatConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Or bitcoin

No data yet

Interest on balance

3.6%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to; on eligible balances, variable

0.3%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Tagesgeld (savings) on Standard, variable; Go 0.50%, Metal 1.50% p.a.

Cashback conditions

Rate set by the 30-day average assets held across Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro: 0.5% from €200, 1% from €1,000, 1.5% from €10,000, 2% from €50,000 · Metal card free from €/£50,000 average assetsShow source
No data yet

Staking / holding required for top rewards

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Holding assets (not staking) sets the cashback tier

No data yet

Staking asset

Any assets held at Krak, Kraken and Kraken ProShow source
No data yet

Capital required for top rewards

€50,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

30-day average for the 2% tier

No data yet

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoShow source
NoShow source

Credit type

No data yet
NoneShow source

Spend own balance directly

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Spends directly from the Krak Everyday account balance

No data yet

Availability

Available in

European Union, United KingdomConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Residents of the UK and the EU; a separate US card exists

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, SwitzerlandConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

21 countries listed: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (not DOM/TOM), Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland; residency and requirements apply

Account / spend currencies

600+ currenciesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Spend in more than 600 currencies

No data yet

Own IBAN / bank details

No data yet
YesShow source

Features

Apple Pay

YesShow source
YesShow source

Google Pay

No data yet
YesShow source

Physical card

YesShow source
YesShow source

Virtual card

YesShow source
YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

YesShow source
YesShow source

Airport lounge access

No data yet
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard: 33 € per visit; Go first visit 15 €, Metal first visit per year free

Travel / rental car insurance

No data yet
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only Go and Metal plans (not Standard)

Purchase protection

No data yet
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only Metal plan

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

EEA: e-money by Payward Ireland Limited, regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland · EEA: card issuer UAB Monavate, licensed by the Bank of Lithuania (LB002139) · UK: card issuer Monavate Limited, FCA-authorised (FRN 901097) · UK: e-money and payment services by Payward Services Limited, FCA-authorised (FRN 1010381) · UK: Payward Ltd registered with the FCA as a cryptoasset business (FRN 928768)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

US: Payward Interactive, Inc. is a licensed money transmitter (NMLS #1843762) registered with FinCEN as an MSB

German full banking licence (BaFin)Show source

Deposit protection

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

EEA e-money wallet is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme; UK: no FSCS protection; US: balances not FDIC or SIPC insured

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to €100,000

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Krak Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs+0 EUR
  • Cashback+0 EUR
  • Net annual value0 EUR

N26

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−20 EUR
  • Cashback+0 EUR
  • Net annual value-20 EUR

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers