savebackcards.com

Brighty Card vs Exa Card (Uphold)

Brighty Card

Crypto native

6.6
Exa Card (Uphold)

Crypto native

6.5

Verdict

  • Brighty Card scores higher overall (6.6 vs 6.5 out of 10).
  • Brighty Card is clearly stronger on: Product features.
  • Exa Card (Uphold) is clearly stronger on: Credit & financing.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Brighty Card is a good fit for

  • Stablecoin holders

Stronger on: Product features

Exa Card (Uphold) is a good fit for

  • Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card

Stronger on: Credit & financing

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionBrighty CardExa Card (Uphold)
Fees100100
Cashback & rewards––
Availability––
FX & international––
Product features7053
Custody & security7570
Credit & financing3060
Limits & ATM––
Transparency100100
Best for DeFi Users6.76.8
Best for Stablecoins7.3n/a
Best for Low Fees8.08.0
Best for Beginners7.87.3
Best Crypto Credit Cardn/a7.0

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Crypto-backed creditShow source

Network

MastercardShow source
VisaConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Visa Signature

Custody model

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Custody by licensed partners, secured with Fireblocks

HybridConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Collateral leaves Uphold and is held in Exactly Protocol smart contracts

Card issuer / program manager

BTY Digital AG with licensed partnersShow source
Third National; credit by Exactly ProtocolShow source

Tiers / plans

Brighty One (free) · Brighty Plus · Brighty ProShow source
No data yet

Fees

Annual fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

Virtual card fee

No data yet
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Created automatically with the Instant Credit account

Top-up fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Deposits of EUR, GBP, USD or crypto via SEPA, Faster Payments and FedWire; page does not state fees for other top-up methods

No data yet

Other fees & markups

Cashback redemption may be subject to network, transaction or exchange fees and conversion costsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Amounts not stated on this page; conditions are displayed in the app

No data yet

Cashback & rewards

Cashback paid in

Supported stablecoins (e.g. USDC)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Redemption forms are displayed in the app and may also include other reward forms made available by BTY

No data yet

Cashback type

StablecoinConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback balance redeemable in supported stablecoins such as USDC

No data yet

Cashback conditions

Rates vary by merchant, merchant category, country, subscription plan, reward tier, campaign or promotional period and are shown in the app · Calculated on the final settled amount; cashback stays provisional until the transaction is settled · Most cashback credited within 5 business days after settlement; some merchants or schemes need up to 90 days or longer · Personal use only; not for business, commercial or bulk purchasing · Redemption may be subject to minimum thresholds and daily, monthly or other limitsShow source
No data yet

Reward expiry / vesting

Cashback does not expire unless an expiry period is communicated in the app, programme rules or another durable communicationShow source
No data yet

Reward exclusions

Card-to-card transfers · ATM and other cash withdrawals · Gambling and betting transactions · Money transfers · Wallet or account top-ups · Quasi-cash transactions · Financial services transactions · Tax and certain government payments · Cryptocurrency or digital asset purchases, unless expressly permitted · Excluded MCCs (financial & money services): 4829, 6010, 6011, 6012, 6050, 6051, 6211, 6300, 6513, 6529, 6530, 6532, 6533, 6536, 6537, 6538, 6540, 6760, 8999 · Excluded MCCs (gambling & betting): 7800, 7801, 7802, 7995 · Excluded MCCs (government & tax payments): 9211, 9222, 9223, 9311, 9399, 9402, 9405, 9411 · Excluded MCC (utilities & essential services): 4900 · Excluded MCCs (retail & miscellaneous): 5734, 5947, 7349, 7372, 8062, 8398, 8651, 8661 · Transactions via Curve cards or equivalent pass-through, intermediary or wallet-routing services · Refunded, reversed, cancelled, disputed or charged-back transactionsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

List is "without limitation"; BTY may update excluded categories or MCCs

No data yet

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoShow source
YesShow source

Credit type

No data yet
InstalmentsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

One payment or up to 8 fixed-rate installments every 28 days

Collateral assets

No data yet
BTC · ETH · USDC · XRPShow source

Interest notes

No data yet
Fixed APR per payment option, confirmed at purchaseShow source

Liquidation risk

No data yet
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Spending limit depends on collateral value and health score

Spend by borrowing against collateral

No data yet
YesShow source

Availability

Account / spend currencies

EUR · USD · GBP · USDC · EURC · ETH · BTCConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Account/wallet currencies in the Brighty app; page adds 'and more' for both fiat and crypto

No data yet

Own IBAN / bank details

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Named IBANs for EUR, GBP and USD

No data yet

Features

Apple Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Stated as a footer link under Payments

YesShow source

Google Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Stated as a footer link under Payments

YesShow source

Physical card

No data yet
NoShow source

Virtual card

No data yet
YesShow source

Spend stablecoins

YesShow source
No data yet

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

BTY Digital AG affiliated with VQF, a Swiss self-regulatory organisation recognised by FINMA under the AMLA (membership no. 100917)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Applies to BTY Digital AG (Baar, Switzerland), operator of the Brighty Cashback Programme; the page footer says payment cards are provided by licensed partners

No data yet

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Brighty Card

  • Annual & monthly feesunknown
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Exa Card (Uphold)

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers