Brighty Card vs Coinbase One Card
Crypto native
Crypto native
Verdict
- Brighty Card scores higher overall (6.6 vs 6.0 out of 10).
- Brighty Card is clearly stronger on: Custody & security.
- Coinbase One Card is clearly stronger on: Credit & financing.
- A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.
Brighty Card is a good fit for
- Stablecoin holders
Stronger on: Custody & security
Coinbase One Card is a good fit for
- Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card
- Everyday spenders who want cashback
- Frequent travellers
Stronger on: Credit & financing
★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link
Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:
Crypto native · ether.fi
Why we recommend it
- 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
- 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
- No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
- Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
- Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply
Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.
Score by criterion
| Criterion | Brighty Card | Coinbase One Card |
|---|---|---|
| Fees | 100 | 91 |
| Cashback & rewards | – | 47 |
| Availability | – | 3 |
| FX & international | – | 100 |
| Product features | 70 | – |
| Custody & security | 75 | 60 |
| Credit & financing | 30 | 70 |
| Limits & ATM | – | – |
| Transparency | 100 | 100 |
| Best for Cashback | n/a | 5.6 |
| Best for Travel | n/a | 7.1 |
| Best for DeFi Users | 6.7 | 6.7 |
| Best for Stablecoins | 7.3 | n/a |
| Best for High Spenders | n/a | 6.7 |
| Best for Low Fees | 8.0 | 8.9 |
| Best for Beginners | 7.8 | 6.2 |
| Best Crypto Credit Card | n/a | 7.2 |
Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.
Product
Product status
ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source
Card type
Debit cardShow source
Credit cardShow source
Network
MastercardShow source
American ExpressShow source
Custody model
CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Custody by licensed partners, secured with Fireblocks
CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
The provider holds the funds
Card issuer / program manager
BTY Digital AG with licensed partnersShow source
First Electronic Bank (offered through Coinbase, Inc. and Cardless, Inc.)Show source
Tiers / plans
Brighty One (free) · Brighty Plus · Brighty ProShow source
Fees
Annual fee
$49.99/yearConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Coinbase One membership required (from $49.99/year); no separate card annual fee for members
FX fee
0%Show source
Top-up fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Deposits of EUR, GBP, USD or crypto via SEPA, Faster Payments and FedWire; page does not state fees for other top-up methods
Other fees & markups
Cashback redemption may be subject to network, transaction or exchange fees and conversion costsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Amounts not stated on this page; conditions are displayed in the app
Cashback & rewards
Base cashback
2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lowest bitcoin-back tier; 2.5/3/4% depending on assets held on Coinbase (capped); requires a paid Coinbase One membership
Max cashback
4%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Up to; tier depends on average Coinbase balance
Cashback paid in
Supported stablecoins (e.g. USDC)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Redemption forms are displayed in the app and may also include other reward forms made available by BTY
BTCShow source
Cashback type
StablecoinConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Cashback balance redeemable in supported stablecoins such as USDC
CryptoShow source
Cashback conditions
Rates vary by merchant, merchant category, country, subscription plan, reward tier, campaign or promotional period and are shown in the app · Calculated on the final settled amount; cashback stays provisional until the transaction is settled · Most cashback credited within 5 business days after settlement; some merchants or schemes need up to 90 days or longer · Personal use only; not for business, commercial or bulk purchasing · Redemption may be subject to minimum thresholds and daily, monthly or other limitsShow source
Reward tier depends on the account's average balance · 5% bitcoin back on travel booked via Coinbase One Card Travel · Reversed purchases can trigger a Rewards Adjustment ChargeShow source
Reward expiry / vesting
Cashback does not expire unless an expiry period is communicated in the app, programme rules or another durable communicationShow source
Reward exclusions
Card-to-card transfers · ATM and other cash withdrawals · Gambling and betting transactions · Money transfers · Wallet or account top-ups · Quasi-cash transactions · Financial services transactions · Tax and certain government payments · Cryptocurrency or digital asset purchases, unless expressly permitted · Excluded MCCs (financial & money services): 4829, 6010, 6011, 6012, 6050, 6051, 6211, 6300, 6513, 6529, 6530, 6532, 6533, 6536, 6537, 6538, 6540, 6760, 8999 · Excluded MCCs (gambling & betting): 7800, 7801, 7802, 7995 · Excluded MCCs (government & tax payments): 9211, 9222, 9223, 9311, 9399, 9402, 9405, 9411 · Excluded MCC (utilities & essential services): 4900 · Excluded MCCs (retail & miscellaneous): 5734, 5947, 7349, 7372, 8062, 8398, 8651, 8661 · Transactions via Curve cards or equivalent pass-through, intermediary or wallet-routing services · Refunded, reversed, cancelled, disputed or charged-back transactionsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
List is "without limitation"; BTY may update excluded categories or MCCs
Credit & financing
Credit line
NoShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Subject to credit approval
Credit type
Revolving creditShow source
Availability
Available in
United StatesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Excluding US territories
Account / spend currencies
EUR · USD · GBP · USDC · EURC · ETH · BTCConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Account/wallet currencies in the Brighty app; page adds 'and more' for both fiat and crypto
Own IBAN / bank details
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Named IBANs for EUR, GBP and USD
Features
Apple Pay
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Stated as a footer link under Payments
Google Pay
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Stated as a footer link under Payments
Physical card
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Stainless steel card
Spend stablecoins
YesShow source
Travel / rental car insurance
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Amex network benefits: car rental loss & damage, trip cancellation/interruption, luggage
Purchase protection
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Amex network benefits: retail protection, extended warranty, return protection
Security & custody
Regulation / licences
BTY Digital AG affiliated with VQF, a Swiss self-regulatory organisation recognised by FINMA under the AMLA (membership no. 100917)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Applies to BTY Digital AG (Baar, Switzerland), operator of the Brighty Cashback Programme; the page footer says payment cards are provided by licensed partners
Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month
Brighty Card
- Annual & monthly feesunknown
- FX costsunknown
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costsunknown
- Cashbackunknown
- Net annual valuenot enough data
Coinbase One Card
- Annual & monthly fees−45 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costsunknown
- Cashback+360 EUR
- Net annual valuenot enough data
Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers