savebackcards.com

Ripio Card vs xPortal Card

Ripio Card

Crypto native

4.9
xPortal Card

Crypto native

5.0

Verdict

  • xPortal Card scores higher overall (5.0 vs 4.9 out of 10).
  • Ripio Card is clearly stronger on: Fees, Cashback & rewards.
  • xPortal Card is clearly stronger on: Availability, Product features.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Ripio Card is a good fit for

  • Everyday spenders who want cashback

Stronger on: Fees, Cashback & rewards

xPortal Card is a good fit for

  • No specific audience can be derived from the published data yet.

Stronger on: Availability, Product features

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionRipio CardxPortal Card
Fees10063
Cashback & rewards411
Availability370
FX & international0–
Product features5670
Custody & security60–
Credit & financing––
Limits & ATM20–
Transparency100100
Best for Cashback4.83.3
Best for Travel3.35.4
Best for DeFi Users5.94.7
Best for High Spenders4.63.6
Best for Low Fees6.36.3
Best for Beginners6.56.6

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
Limited availabilityConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Crypto-asset services currently suspended (MiCA)

Card type

Prepaid cardShow source
Debit cardShow source

Network

VisaShow source
MastercardShow source

Custody model

CustodialShow source
No data yet

Card issuer / program manager

Digipayments S.A.U. and Pomelo Fintech Services S.A.S. (co-issuers)Show source
Capital Financial Services S.A. (white-label issuer); program run by xPortal Equity AGShow source

Fees

Annual fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

'Sem custo'

No data yet

Monthly fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

No maintenance cost

No data yet

Physical card fee

FreeShow source
€9.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

First physical card and each following one; plus delivery fee 5,99 EUR (Romania) or 12,99 (international, EEA only)

Virtual card fee

No data yet
€3Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

First three virtual cards are free; fourth and following cost 3 EUR issuing fee

Replacement fee

R$9.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

From the second reissue

No data yet

FX fee

5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Applied by the partner on foreign-currency card purchases

No data yet

Crypto conversion fee

No data yet
1.49%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Crypto purchase via xMoney

ATM fee

R$6.90Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Rede24Horas ATM, per operation

No data yet

Other fees & markups

Selling a digital asset to pay a card purchase: Ripio charges a commission for the sale (amount not stated)Show source
Delivery fee for physical card 5,99 EUR (Romania) or 12,99 (international, EEA only)Show source

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Paying with crypto; 0.5% paying with ARS

No data yet

Max cashback

2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Promotional: 2% paid in USDT, ETH or BTC on purchases from balance in any digital asset, from 01/09/2024 until an end date Ripio will announce; 0.5% on purchases from BRL balance

0.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Depending on EGLD/UTK staked

Cashback paid in

USDT, ETH or BTC (user's choice)Show source
EGLD / UTKShow source

Cashback type

CryptoShow source
CryptoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback is transferred to the exchange provider to purchase virtual assets

Max cashback per month

R$500/monthConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Monthly cashback limit

€30/monthConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Monthly cashback cap at tier 5; lower tiers EUR 5/10/15/20

Cashback conditions

No data yet
Participant must be 18+, EEA citizen and resident, registered xPortal user with minimum staked EGLD or SUI · Must also be a customer of exchange provider Cifralfabeto Lda · Only fully settled transactions qualify · Cashback paid weekly on Fridays for transactions older than 30 days; transfer only if at least EUR 1 · Program can be changed or terminated at any time; promotional pool EUR 10,000 first-come first-servedShow source

Staking / holding required for top rewards

No data yet
YesShow source

Staking asset

No data yet
EGLD or SUIShow source

Reward expiry / vesting

No data yet
Cashback earned but not yet transferred is forfeited if the account is closedShow source

Reward exclusions

Funding of digital wallets, exchanges or other merchants · Misuse, fraudulent use or use contrary to the termsShow source
Financial services, money transfers, insurance, funding of cards and accounts, securities · Lotteries, gambling, tax payments, government services, subscriptions · ATM / POS cash withdrawals · Refunded / reversed transactions · Excluded MCCs such as 4829, 4900, 5734, 5947, 6012, 6051, 6211, 6300, 6513, 6532, 6540, 7372, 8999, 9222, 9311, 9399Show source

Availability

Available in

BrazilConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Individuals 18+ resident and domiciled in Brazil

EEAConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback program eligibility: EEA citizens with domicile or habitual residence in an EEA Member State

Features

Apple Pay

YesShow source
YesShow source

Google Pay

YesShow source
YesShow source

Physical card

YesShow source
YesShow source

Virtual card

YesShow source
YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

No cash withdrawals unless expressly enabled

YesShow source

Airport lounge access

No data yet
NoShow source

Travel / rental car insurance

No data yet
NoShow source

Limits

ATM limit

No data yet
€500Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Per month

Spending limit

R$30,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Daily cumulative in-person purchases; e-commerce R$10,000 per day

€5,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Per day

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

No data yet
Capital Financial Services S.A., electronic money institution authorized by the National Bank of RomaniaShow source

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Ripio Card

  • Annual & monthly feesunknown
  • FX costs−180 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−14 EUR
  • Cashback+360 EUR
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

xPortal Card

  • Annual & monthly feesunknown
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers