bunq vs Coinbase Card
E-money / FinTech
Crypto native
Verdict
- bunq scores higher overall (7.2 vs 5.9 out of 10).
- bunq is clearly stronger on: Availability, Credit & financing.
- Coinbase Card is clearly stronger on: Transparency.
- A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.
bunq is a good fit for
- Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card
- Frequent travellers
Stronger on: Availability, Credit & financing
Coinbase Card is a good fit for
- Stablecoin holders
Stronger on: Transparency
Score by criterion
| Criterion | bunq | Coinbase Card |
|---|---|---|
| Fees | 100 | 100 |
| Cashback & rewards | 16 | – |
| Availability | 90 | 3 |
| FX & international | 100 | – |
| Product features | 70 | 70 |
| Custody & security | 75 | 75 |
| Credit & financing | 70 | 30 |
| Limits & ATM | 70 | – |
| Transparency | 79 | 100 |
| Best for Cashback | 5.2 | n/a |
| Best for Travel | 8.2 | n/a |
| Best for DeFi Users | n/a | 6.7 |
| Best for Stablecoins | n/a | 7.3 |
| Best for High Spenders | 5.8 | n/a |
| Best for Low Fees | 9.2 | 8.0 |
| Best for Beginners | 7.6 | 7.1 |
| Best Crypto Credit Card | 6.8 | n/a |
| Best E-Money Card | 8.9 | n/a |
Product
Product status
ActiveShow source
Product status: Active
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
ActiveShow source
Product status: Active
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Card type
Debit card, Credit card*Show source
Card type: Debit card, Credit card
Debit Card or Credit Card; Credit Card can pay from own money or with an optional Credit Limit
Source states (paraphrased): Included from bunq Core, as a Debit Card or a Credit Card.
Source: Discover bunq credit, digital and metal cards
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Debit Card or Credit Card; Credit Card can pay from own money or with an optional Credit Limit
Debit cardShow source
Card type: Debit card
Source states (paraphrased): The Visa debit card that rewards crypto.
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Network
MastercardShow source
Network: Mastercard
Source states (paraphrased): ZeroFX uses real Mastercard rates.
Source: ZeroFX with bunq
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
VisaShow source
Network: Visa
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Custody model
Custodial*Show source
Custody model: Custodial
The provider holds the funds
Source states (paraphrased): Owner research: custodial
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
The provider holds the funds
Custodial*Show source
Custody model: Custodial
The provider holds the funds
Source states (paraphrased): Owner research: custodial
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
The provider holds the funds
Card issuer / program manager
bunq B.V.Show source
Card issuer / program manager: bunq B.V.
Source states (paraphrased): bunq B.V. trading as bunq is licensed by the Dutch Central Bank (DNB) in the Netherlands
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 70%
Pathward, N.A. (program powered by Marqeta)Show source
Card issuer / program manager: Pathward, N.A. (program powered by Marqeta)
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Tiers / plans
Free €0 · Core €3.99/mo · Pro €9.99/mo · Elite €18.99/moShow source
Tiers / plans: Free €0 · Core €3.99/mo · Pro €9.99/mo · Elite €18.99/mo
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%
Fees
Annual fee
FreeShow source
Annual fee: Free
Source states (paraphrased): Zero spending fees and no annual fees.
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Monthly fee
Free*Show source
Monthly fee: Free
Free plan; Core €3.99, Pro €9.99, Elite €18.99 per month
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Free plan; Core €3.99, Pro €9.99, Elite €18.99 per month
Physical card fee
€99*Show source
Physical card fee: €99
Metal card on Pro and Elite; extra physical cards €9.99 plus a monthly fee
Source: Discover bunq credit, digital and metal cards
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Metal card on Pro and Elite; extra physical cards €9.99 plus a monthly fee
Virtual card fee
FreeShow source
Virtual card fee: Free
Source states (paraphrased): Get a free virtual card the moment you sign up.
Source: Discover bunq credit, digital and metal cards
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
FX fee
0%*Show source
FX fee: 0%
ZeroFX card payments abroad: Free plan up to €1,000 per year (fee beyond not stated on this page); Core, Pro, Elite unlimited
Source states (paraphrased): ZeroFX card payments abroad Up to €1,000 per year Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 70%
ZeroFX card payments abroad: Free plan up to €1,000 per year (fee beyond not stated on this page); Core, Pro, Elite unlimited
Top-up fee
Free*Show source
Top-up fee: Free
Funding from a linked bank account or paycheck deposit; a spread applies when crypto is sold
Source states (paraphrased): Link your bank account or get part of your paycheck deposited into Coinbase with zero fees.
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Funding from a linked bank account or paycheck deposit; a spread applies when crypto is sold
ATM fee
€2.99*Show source
ATM fee: €2.99
Free plan: €2.99 each; Core/Pro/Elite: €0.99 for the first 5/month, then €2.99; Pro and Elite include 6 free withdrawals/month
Source states (paraphrased): Extra ATM Withdrawals €2.99 each €0.99 for the first 5/month, then €2.99
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Free plan: €2.99 each; Core/Pro/Elite: €0.99 for the first 5/month, then €2.99; Pro and Elite include 6 free withdrawals/month
Other fees & markups
Metal card €99 per card (Pro/Elite)Show source
Other fees & markups: Metal card €99 per card (Pro/Elite)
Source states (paraphrased): Metal Card ✕ ✕ €99 per card €99 per card
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%
Coinbase charges a spread when buying, selling or converting cryptoShow source
Other fees & markups: Coinbase charges a spread when buying, selling or converting crypto
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Cashback & rewards
Base cashback
0%*Show source
Base cashback: 0%
Programme ended 7 Dec 2025; partner cashback offers still available
Source states (paraphrased): We've ended our Cashback program
Source: We've said goodbye to Cashback | bunq Help
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%
Programme ended 7 Dec 2025; partner cashback offers still available
Max cashback
0%*Show source
Max cashback: 0%
Cashback programme ended 7 Dec 2025 (previously Elite/Business credit card); partner cashback offers still available
Source states (paraphrased): you’ll stop receiving Cashback on your Credit Card payments starting from December 8, 2025
Source: We've said goodbye to Cashback | bunq Help
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Cashback programme ended 7 Dec 2025 (previously Elite/Business credit card); partner cashback offers still available
Cashback type
None*Show source
Cashback type: None
Cashback programme ended on 7 December 2025
Source states (paraphrased): we've said goodbye to Cashback on December 7, 2025.
Source: We've said goodbye to Cashback | bunq Help
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Cashback programme ended on 7 December 2025
CryptoShow source
Cashback type: Crypto
Source: Coinbase Card rewards
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Interest on balance
3.11%*Show source
Interest on balance: 3.11%
Savings interest included in every plan incl. Free; variable
Source states (paraphrased): Each plan includes 3.11%* interest on your savings
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Savings interest included in every plan incl. Free; variable
Cashback conditions
Rewards are optional and the rate is variable · Rewards only for US card usersShow source
Cashback conditions: Rewards are optional and the rate is variable · Rewards only for US card users
Source: Coinbase Card rewards
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Credit & financing
Credit line
Yes*Show source
Credit line: Yes
Optional Credit Limit on the Credit Card
Source states (paraphrased): Pay from your own money, or add a Credit Limit if you want more flexibility.
Source: Discover bunq credit, digital and metal cards
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%
Optional Credit Limit on the Credit Card
NoShow source
Credit line: No
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Spend own balance directly
YesShow source
Spend own balance directly: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Pay from your own money, or add a Credit Limit if you want more flexibility.
Source: Discover bunq credit, digital and metal cards
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
YesShow source
Spend own balance directly: Yes
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Availability
Available in
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden*Show source
Available in: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden
bunq personal account (all bunq cards require one): citizens and residents of the listed supported EEA countries; non-EU citizens living there may also sign up with suitable documents. Overseas regions/territories excluded. Minors allowed with guardian permission.
Source states (paraphrased): 🇦🇹 Austria, 🇧🇪 Belgium, 🇧🇬 Bulgaria, 🇭🇷 Croatia, 🇨🇾 Cyprus, 🇨🇿 Czech Republic, 🇩🇰 Denmark, 🇪🇪 Estonia, 🇫🇮 Finland, 🇫🇷 France, 🇩🇪 Germany, 🇬🇷 Greece, 🇭🇺 Hungary, 🇮🇪 Ireland, 🇮🇹Italy, 🇱🇻 Latvia, 🇱🇹 Lithuania, 🇱🇺 Luxembourg, 🇲🇹 Malta, 🇳🇱 the Netherlands, 🇵🇱 Poland, 🇵🇹 Portugal, 🇷🇴 Romania, 🇸🇰 Slovakia, 🇸🇮 Slovenia, 🇪🇸 Spain and 🇸🇪 Sweden
Source: Who can open a bunq Personal account?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
bunq personal account (all bunq cards require one): citizens and residents of the listed supported EEA countries; non-EU citizens living there may also sign up with suitable documents. Overseas regions/territories excluded. Minors allowed with guardian permission.
United States*Show source
Available in: United States
Excluding Hawaii
Source states (paraphrased): Available for Coinbase customers who live in the US, excluding Hawaii.
Source: Apply for a debit card from Coinbase
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Excluding Hawaii
Not available in
AW, BQ, CW, PF, TF, GL, NC, BL, PM, SX, WF, GF, GP, MQ, YT, RE*Show source
Not available in: AW, BQ, CW, PF, TF, GL, NC, BL, PM, SX, WF, GF, GP, MQ, YT, RE
Residents of Overseas Countries and Territories (Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, Greenland, New Caledonia, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Wallis and Futuna) and French overseas regions (French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion) cannot currently open an account. Non-EEA residents can join a country waitlist.
Source states (paraphrased): Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs): Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, Greenland, New Caledonia, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon
Source: Who can open a bunq Personal account?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%
Residents of Overseas Countries and Territories (Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, Greenland, New Caledonia, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Wallis and Futuna) and French overseas regions (French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion) cannot currently open an account. Non-EEA residents can join a country waitlist.
Own IBAN / bank details
Yes*Show source
Own IBAN / bank details: Yes
Free 3, Core 5, Pro/Elite 25 accounts; local IBAN in your country on all plans
Source states (paraphrased): Bank Accounts, each with its own IBAN
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Free 3, Core 5, Pro/Elite 25 accounts; local IBAN in your country on all plans
Features
Apple Pay
Yes*Show source
Apple Pay: Yes
All plans
Source states (paraphrased): Apple Pay ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
All plans
Google Pay
Yes*Show source
Google Pay: Yes
All plans
Source states (paraphrased): Google Pay ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
All plans
Physical card
Yes*Show source
Physical card: Yes
Not on Free plan; Core 1 included, Pro/Elite 3 included
Source states (paraphrased): Physical Card ✕ 1 included 3 included 3 included
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Not on Free plan; Core 1 included, Pro/Elite 3 included
YesShow source
Physical card: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Create a virtual card or order a physical card
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Virtual card
Yes*Show source
Virtual card: Yes
Free/Core 1 digital card, Pro/Elite 25
Source states (paraphrased): Digital Cards 1 included 1 included 25 included 25 included
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Free/Core 1 digital card, Pro/Elite 25
YesShow source
Virtual card: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Create a virtual card or order a physical card
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
ATM withdrawals
YesShow source
ATM withdrawals: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Free ATM Withdrawals ✕ ✕ 6/month 6/month
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
YesShow source
ATM withdrawals: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Coinbase will automatically convert all cryptocurrency to US Dollars for use in purchases and ATM withdrawals.
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Spend stablecoins
Yes*Show source
Spend stablecoins: Yes
USDC
Source states (paraphrased): There are no fees for spending US dollars (USD) or crypto, including USD Coin (USDC) with Coinbase Card.
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
USDC
Travel / rental car insurance
No*Show source
Travel / rental car insurance: No
Only bunq Elite plan
Source states (paraphrased): Travel insured, worldwide
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Only bunq Elite plan
Limits
ATM limit
€1,000*Show source
ATM limit: €1,000
Personal accounts, per calendar day per person, for accounts verified 3 months or longer; €250 per day for accounts verified less than 3 months ago. Business: €1,000 per card per day.
Source states (paraphrased): Account verified 3 months or longer: €1,000 per calendar day, per person.
Source: Need cash?
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Personal accounts, per calendar day per person, for accounts verified 3 months or longer; €250 per day for accounts verified less than 3 months ago. Business: €1,000 per card per day.
Security & custody
Regulation / licences
Full European banking licence issued by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB)Show source
Regulation / licences: Full European banking licence issued by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB)
Source states (paraphrased): We hold a full European banking license issued by the Dutch National Bank (DNB).
Source: Is bunq safe and reliable? | bunq Help
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Issued by Pathward, N.A., Member FDIC, under a license from Visa U.S.A. Inc.Show source
Regulation / licences: Issued by Pathward, N.A., Member FDIC, under a license from Visa U.S.A. Inc.
Source states (paraphrased): The Coinbase Card is issued by Pathward®, N.A., Member FDIC, pursuant to a license from Visa U.S.A. Inc.
Source: Coinbase Card: The Visa® debit card that rewards crypto
Official product page (tier 1)
Checked by editor · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Deposit protection
Yes*Show source
Deposit protection: Yes
Up to €100,000 via the Dutch Deposit Guarantee Scheme
Source states (paraphrased): Your deposits are covered by the Dutch Deposit Guarantee Scheme.
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Up to €100,000 via the Dutch Deposit Guarantee Scheme
Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month
bunq
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costs−36 EUR
- Cashback+0 EUR
- Net annual value-36 EUR
Coinbase Card
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costsunknown
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costsunknown
- Cashbackunknown
- Net annual valuenot enough data
Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers