savebackcards.com
Menu

Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you apply through these links, we may receive compensation at no additional cost to you. Affiliate relationships never influence our scores. Read our affiliate disclosure

Avici Card vs MetaMask Card

Avici Card

Crypto native

7.2
MetaMask Card

Crypto native

7.2

Verdict

  • Avici Card and MetaMask Card have the same overall score (7.2/10).
  • Avici Card is clearly stronger on: Credit & financing.
  • MetaMask Card is clearly stronger on: FX & international, Custody & security.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Avici Card is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card

Stronger on: Credit & financing

MetaMask Card is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Stablecoin holders
  • Frequent travellers

Stronger on: FX & international, Custody & security

Score by criterion

CriterionAvici CardMetaMask Card
Fees96100
Cashback & rewards–27
Availability100100
FX & international60100
Product features––
Custody & security7080
Credit & financing7030
Limits & ATM––
Transparency7986
Best for Cashbackn/a5.7
Best for Travel6.77.9
Best for Self-Custody6.87.4
Best for DeFi Users6.86.3
Best for Stablecoinsn/a7.6
Best for High Spendersn/a5.5
Best for Low Fees7.89.0
Best for Beginners7.57.5
Best Crypto Credit Card7.2n/a

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source

Product status: Active

Source: Secured Credit Cards

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

ActiveShow source

Product status: Active

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Card type

Crypto-backed credit*Show source

Card type: Crypto-backed credit

Secured credit card backed by your own deposit

Source: Secured Credit Cards

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Secured credit card backed by your own deposit

Debit cardShow source

Card type: Debit card

Source states (paraphrased): Self-custodial debit card.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Network

VisaShow source

Network: Visa

Source states (paraphrased): Works anywhere a Visa international card is accepted.

Source: Avici Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

MastercardShow source

Network: Mastercard

Source states (paraphrased): Accepted wherever Mastercard is accepted (150M+ merchants).

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Custody model

Self-custody*Show source

Custody model: Self-custody

Funds in a smart contract owned by your wallet; Avici can only withdraw against card charges

Source: Avici Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Funds in a smart contract owned by your wallet; Avici can only withdraw against card charges

Self-custodyShow source

Custody model: Self-custody

Source states (paraphrased): Card spends from your self-custodial MetaMask wallet.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Tiers / plans

Platinum · SignatureShow source

Tiers / plans: Platinum · Signature

Source: Fees and Limits

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Virtual (free) · Metal ($199/year)Show source

Tiers / plans: Virtual (free) · Metal ($199/year)

Source: MetaMask Metal card

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Fees

Annual fee

Free*Show source

Annual fee: Free

Platinum; Signature costs $30 the first year, then $20/year

Source states (paraphrased): Platinum: one-time fee, no recurring charges. Signature: $30 first year, then $20 annually.

Source: Fees and Limits

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Platinum; Signature costs $30 the first year, then $20/year

Free*Show source

Annual fee: Free

Virtual card; Metal tier $199/year

Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card has no annual or maintenance fees; Metal is $199 a year.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Virtual card; Metal tier $199/year

Physical card fee

$50*Show source

Physical card fee: $50

Platinum; Signature $75

Source: Fees and Limits

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Platinum; Signature $75

No data yet

Virtual card fee

$15*Show source

Virtual card fee: $15

Platinum, first card; further cards $10

Source: Fees and Limits

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Platinum, first card; further cards $10

No data yet

FX fee

1%*Show source

FX fee: 1%

Charged by Visa, no Avici markup; terms allow up to 3%

Source states (paraphrased): Foreign Exchange Fee (non USD): up to 3%, currently 1% (charged by Visa, no markup from Avici).

Source: Terms of Service – Avici Card

Official terms & conditions (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Charged by Visa, no Avici markup; terms allow up to 3%

0%*Show source

FX fee: 0%

Mastercard exchange rate, no additional MetaMask fee

Source states (paraphrased): Best FX rate allowed by Mastercard, no additional fees.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Mastercard exchange rate, no additional MetaMask fee

Small transaction fee

Free*Show source

Small transaction fee: Free

No transaction fees

Source: Fees and Limits

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

No transaction fees

No data yet

Other fees & markups

No data yet
Small per-transaction fee on the Virtual card (amount not stated) · Gas cost when claiming cashbackShow source

Other fees & markups: Small per-transaction fee on the Virtual card (amount not stated) · Gas cost when claiming cashback

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

No data yet
1%*Show source

Base cashback: 1%

Virtual card, eligible purchases

Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card earns 1% back in mUSD.

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Virtual card, eligible purchases

Max cashback

No data yet
3%*Show source

Max cashback: 3%

Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%

Source states (paraphrased): 3% mUSD back on the first $10,000 spent each year, 1% thereafter.

Source: MetaMask Metal card

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%

Cashback paid in

No data yet
mUSDShow source

Cashback paid in: mUSD

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Cashback type

No data yet
StablecoinShow source

Cashback type: Stablecoin

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Credit & financing

Credit line

Yes*Show source

Credit line: Yes

Secured by your own deposit

Source: Secured Credit Cards

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Secured by your own deposit

NoShow source

Credit line: No

Source states (paraphrased): Described as a self-custodial debit card.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Credit type

Crypto-backed creditShow source

Credit type: Crypto-backed credit

Source: Secured Credit Cards

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

No data yet

Spend own balance directly

No data yet
YesShow source

Spend own balance directly: Yes

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Availability

Available in

Global*Show source

Available in: Global

Except prohibited regions; US only in supported states

Source: Regions and Prohibitions for Avici Card

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 45%

Except prohibited regions; US only in supported states

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, EEA, Mexico, Switzerland, United States, United Kingdom*Show source

Available in: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, EEA, Mexico, Switzerland, United States, United Kingdom

Issuer lists 'Europe'; mapped to EEA

Source states (paraphrased): Available in Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Europe, Mexico, Switzerland, the US and the UK.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Issuer lists 'Europe'; mapped to EEA

Not available in

BY, CN, CU, India, IR, IQ, Israel, MM, NP, NI, KP, RU, LK, SY, Turkey, Ukraine, VE, VietnamShow source

Not available in: BY, CN, CU, India, IR, IQ, Israel, MM, NP, NI, KP, RU, LK, SY, Turkey, Ukraine, VE, Vietnam

Source: Regions and Prohibitions for Avici Card

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

No data yet

Features

Spend stablecoins

No data yet
YesShow source

Spend stablecoins: Yes

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Blockchains

No data yet
Linea · Base · Solana*Show source

Blockchains: Linea · Base · Solana

Solana not supported in the US; Base not in NY and TX

Source: MetaMask and Mastercard launch the US MetaMask Card

Official announcement (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Solana not supported in the US; Base not in NY and TX

Security & custody

Smart-contract risk

YesShow source

Smart-contract risk: Yes

Source: Avici Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

No data yet

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Avici Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs−36 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

MetaMask Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashback+180 EUR
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers