savebackcards.com
Menu

Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you apply through these links, we may receive compensation at no additional cost to you. Affiliate relationships never influence our scores. Read our affiliate disclosure

MetaMask Card

by MetaMask (Consensys)

Crypto nativeDebit cardMastercardSelf-custody
Initial research 22 October 2026 · not yet verified
7.2
Provisional

Self-custodial Mastercard debit card that spends directly from a MetaMask wallet. Free virtual card, or the Metal tier with an annual membership.

Cashback5.7Travel7.9Self-custody7.4DeFi users6.3Stablecoins7.6High spenders5.5Low fees9.0Beginners7.5

Key stats

Base cashback
1%*Show source

Base cashback: 1%

Virtual card, eligible purchases

Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card earns 1% back in mUSD.

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Max cashback
3%*Show source

Max cashback: 3%

Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%

Source states (paraphrased): 3% mUSD back on the first $10,000 spent each year, 1% thereafter.

Source: MetaMask Metal card

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Base fee
Free*Show source

Annual fee: Free

Virtual card; Metal tier $199/year

Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card has no annual or maintenance fees; Metal is $199 a year.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

FX fee
0%*Show source

FX fee: 0%

Mastercard exchange rate, no additional MetaMask fee

Source states (paraphrased): Best FX rate allowed by Mastercard, no additional fees.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

ATM fee
No data yet
Card fee
No data yet
Credit line
NoShow source

Credit line: No

Source states (paraphrased): Described as a self-custodial debit card.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Staking for top rewards
No data yet

Tap a value for its source, retrieval date and confidence. * = conditions apply.

Pros

  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tier
  • No FX markup from the issuer
  • 1% base cashback in mUSD
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own wallet
  • Spends stablecoins directly

Cons

  • Top rate of 3% only with conditions — Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%

Who is it for?

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Stablecoin holders
  • Frequent travellers

Who should avoid it?

Not enough data to say.

Fees

Annual fee
Free*Show source

Annual fee: Free

Virtual card; Metal tier $199/year

Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card has no annual or maintenance fees; Metal is $199 a year.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Virtual card; Metal tier $199/year

FX fee
0%*Show source

FX fee: 0%

Mastercard exchange rate, no additional MetaMask fee

Source states (paraphrased): Best FX rate allowed by Mastercard, no additional fees.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Mastercard exchange rate, no additional MetaMask fee

Other fees & markups
Small per-transaction fee on the Virtual card (amount not stated) · Gas cost when claiming cashbackShow source

Other fees & markups: Small per-transaction fee on the Virtual card (amount not stated) · Gas cost when claiming cashback

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Not yet researched: Monthly fee, Physical card fee, Virtual card fee, Replacement fee, Crypto conversion fee, Top-up fee, Crypto withdrawal fee, ATM fee, Free ATM allowance, Transfer fee, Settlement fee, Small transaction fee.

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback
1%*Show source

Base cashback: 1%

Virtual card, eligible purchases

Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card earns 1% back in mUSD.

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Virtual card, eligible purchases

Max cashback
3%*Show source

Max cashback: 3%

Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%

Source states (paraphrased): 3% mUSD back on the first $10,000 spent each year, 1% thereafter.

Source: MetaMask Metal card

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%

Cashback paid in
mUSDShow source

Cashback paid in: mUSD

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Cashback type
StablecoinShow source

Cashback type: Stablecoin

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Not yet researched: Cashback-eligible spend cap, Max cashback per month, Cashback conditions, Staking / holding required for top rewards, Staking asset, Capital required for top rewards, Minimum balance, Reward expiry / vesting, Reward exclusions.

Credit & financing

Credit line
NoShow source

Credit line: No

Source states (paraphrased): Described as a self-custodial debit card.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Spend own balance directly
YesShow source

Spend own balance directly: Yes

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Not yet researched: Credit type, Collateral assets, Max loan-to-value, Interest (APR), Interest notes, Grace period, Repayment, Liquidation risk, Spend by borrowing against collateral.

Supported countries & currencies

Available in
Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, EEA, Mexico, Switzerland, United States, United Kingdom*Show source

Available in: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, EEA, Mexico, Switzerland, United States, United Kingdom

Issuer lists 'Europe'; mapped to EEA

Source states (paraphrased): Available in Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Europe, Mexico, Switzerland, the US and the UK.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Issuer lists 'Europe'; mapped to EEA

Not yet researched: Not available in, Account / spend currencies, Own IBAN / bank details.

Features, wallets & supported assets

Spend stablecoins
YesShow source

Spend stablecoins: Yes

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Blockchains
Linea · Base · Solana*Show source

Blockchains: Linea · Base · Solana

Solana not supported in the US; Base not in NY and TX

Source: MetaMask and Mastercard launch the US MetaMask Card

Official announcement (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Solana not supported in the US; Base not in NY and TX

Not yet researched: Apple Pay, Google Pay, Physical card, Virtual card, ATM withdrawals, Spendable assets.

Security & custody

No security & custody data published or researched yet.

Limits

No limits data published or researched yet.

Product

Product status
ActiveShow source

Product status: Active

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Card type
Debit cardShow source

Card type: Debit card

Source states (paraphrased): Self-custodial debit card.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Network
MastercardShow source

Network: Mastercard

Source states (paraphrased): Accepted wherever Mastercard is accepted (150M+ merchants).

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Custody model
Self-custodyShow source

Custody model: Self-custody

Source states (paraphrased): Card spends from your self-custodial MetaMask wallet.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Tiers / plans
Virtual (free) · Metal ($199/year)Show source

Tiers / plans: Virtual (free) · Metal ($199/year)

Source: MetaMask Metal card

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Not yet researched: Launch date, Card issuer / program manager.

Risks to understand

  • Stablecoins can de-peg and are not covered by deposit protection.
  • Self-custody: losing your keys or signing a malicious transaction can mean losing funds.
  • Smart-contract and bridge risk applies to on-chain balances.

Our rating

CriterionWeightScore

Fees

Base-tier subscription ≈ €0/year

20%
100

Cashback & rewards

20%
27

Availability

38 of 60 tracked countries

15%
100

FX & international

FX fee 0%

10%
100

Product features

10%No data — excluded

Custody & security

Custody model: self custody

10%
80

Credit & financing

No credit line

5%
30

Limits & ATM

5%No data — excluded

Transparency

7 of 7 checked key terms disclosed · 2 contradiction(s) between official sources

5%
86

Data coverage 85%. Criteria without published data are excluded and their weight is filled with a neutral midpoint, so missing data neither helps nor hurts a card. This score is provisional: it is based on initial research that our research agent has not yet re-verified.

Scores are computed by a deterministic algorithm. Affiliate relationships and sponsored placements have no influence. How we score

FAQ

Does MetaMask Card have an annual or monthly fee?
Base tier: Free (Virtual card; Metal tier $199/year). Source: MetaMask Card FAQs.
What is the FX fee of MetaMask Card?
0% (Mastercard exchange rate, no additional MetaMask fee). Source: MetaMask Card FAQs.
How much cashback does MetaMask Card pay?
Base rate: 1% (Virtual card, eligible purchases). Highest advertised rate: 3% (Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%). Paid in mUSD.
Is MetaMask Card a credit card?
No. It is a debit card; you spend your own balance.
Where is MetaMask Card available?
Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, EEA, Mexico, Switzerland, United States, United Kingdom (Issuer lists 'Europe'; mapped to EEA).
Is MetaMask Card self-custodial?
Self-custody.

Change history

  • Product status recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Card type recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Network recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Custody model recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Tiers / plans recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Annual fee recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • FX fee recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Other fees & markups recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Base cashback recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Max cashback recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Cashback paid in recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Cashback type recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Credit line recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Spend own balance directly recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Spend stablecoins recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Blockchains recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved
  • Available in recorded · 22 October 2026 · auto-approved