savebackcards.com

Oobit vs PENGU Card

Oobit

Crypto native

8.0
PENGU Card

Crypto native

7.3

Verdict

  • Oobit scores higher overall (8.0 vs 7.3 out of 10).
  • Oobit is clearly stronger on: Cashback & rewards, Product features, Custody & security.
  • PENGU Card is clearly stronger on: Fees.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Oobit is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Stablecoin holders
  • Everyday spenders who want cashback

Stronger on: Cashback & rewards, Product features, Custody & security

PENGU Card is a good fit for

  • No specific audience can be derived from the published data yet.

Stronger on: Fees

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionOobitPENGU Card
Fees71100
Cashback & rewards10051
Availability100100
FX & international40–
Product features9070
Custody & security9560
Credit & financing30–
Limits & ATM50–
Transparency93100
Best for Cashback8.96.7
Best for Travel6.66.7
Best for Self-Custody8.6n/a
Best for DeFi Users7.96.5
Best for Stablecoins7.8n/a
Best for High Spenders7.46.2
Best for Low Fees6.38.0
Best for Beginners9.08.4

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

No data yet
Stablecoin cardShow source

Network

VisaShow source
VisaShow source

Custody model

Self-custodyConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Crypto stays in your wallet until the moment you pay

CustodialShow source

Card issuer / program manager

Third National (issuer, under license from Visa); program provided by Oobit Technologies UABShow source
KASTShow source

Fees

Annual fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

No fee for the card itself

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Free tier; $1,000/year and $10,000/year tiers

FX fee

1.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to 1.5% on non-USD purchases

No data yet

Crypto conversion fee

0.95%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Swaps; 3% when swapping into OOB

No data yet

ATM fee

2.5% (min. $0.25)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plus ATM operator fees

No data yet

Settlement fee

1% (min. $0.25)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Per card payment (Brazil: 1%, no minimum)

No data yet

Other fees & markups

Oobit transaction fee $0.25 or 1% (whichever is higher) per transaction · Returned payment fee $29Show source
No data yet

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only for eligible transactions paid in USDT/USDC, capped at USD 200 eligible spend (period not stated); available from level 1; Oobit may change offers with 30 days' notice

1.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Free tier

Max cashback

10%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to

3%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

$10,000/year tier

Cashback paid in

USDC (EEA residents) / USDT (outside EEA)Show source
No data yet

Cashback type

StablecoinConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Points convert to USDC (EEA residents) or USDT (outside EEA); OOB payments earn token rewards

No data yet

Interest on balance

No data yet
12%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to; Reserve account, 8% on Free tier

Cashback-eligible spend cap

$200/monthConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

When paying with tokens other than OOB; $10,000/month when paying with OOB

$2,000/monthConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Monthly eligible spend on the Free tier; $10,000 and $40,000 on higher tiers

Cashback conditions

Tap to Pay points: level 1 earns 1 point per USD, up to 5x at USD 1,500 cumulative spend in a 90-day cycle · 1,000 points = USD 1 · Qualifying Payment must be at least USD 1 · Rewards usable only for Tap to Pay payments in the app; cannot be withdrawn or transferredShow source
No data yet

Staking / holding required for top rewards

NoShow source
No data yet

Reward expiry / vesting

Outstanding accrued rewards are lost if the account is closed, suspended or restrictedShow source
No data yet

Reward exclusions

Payments without sufficient crypto in account · Payments the merchant does not receive · Refunded or reversed paymentsShow source
No data yet

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Classified as credit card only for network acceptance; spends own crypto

No data yet

Interest (APR)

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Currently 0% on all purchases; issuer may introduce interest for new purchases

No data yet

Spend own balance directly

YesShow source
No data yet

Availability

Available in

AL, AD, Austria, Belgium, BA, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, GE, Germany, GI, Greece, GG, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, MD, MC, ME, Netherlands, MK, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, RS, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, KZ, KG, Malaysia, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, TW, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Vietnam, BS, CR, DO, SV, GL, GT, Mexico, PA, PR, United States, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, EC, PY, Peru, UY, South Africa, TZ, Australia, New ZealandConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Country list as given on the page (74 countries listed, page claims 80+)

GlobalConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

170+ countries

Account / spend currencies

USDConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Base currency; other currencies converted automatically, rate shown on receipt

No data yet

Features

Apple Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

After verification

YesShow source

Google Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

After verification

YesShow source

Physical card

No data yet
YesShow source

Virtual card

YesShow source
YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

YesShow source
YesShow source

Spend stablecoins

YesShow source
No data yet

Travel / rental car insurance

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Worldwide auto rental coverage via Visa Platinum; no general travel insurance stated

No data yet

Purchase protection

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Visa Platinum benefits, included automatically

No data yet

Spendable assets

USDT · Bitcoin · Ethereum · StablecoinsShow source
No data yet

Blockchains

Ethereum · Polygon · Optimism · ArbitrumConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Other networks may be added at issuer discretion

No data yet

Limits

Spending limit

$10,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Per day; maximum limit

No data yet

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

US: crypto services via Bakkt Financial Solutions I, LLC (FinCEN MSB, state money transmitter licences)Show source
No data yet

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Oobit

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs−54 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • Per-transaction fees−180 EUR
  • ATM costs−30 EUR
  • Cashback+107 EUR
  • Net annual value-157 EUR

PENGU Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashback+270 EUR
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers