N26 vs Wirex Card
E-money / FinTech
Crypto native
Verdict
- N26 scores higher overall (7.1 vs 6.8 out of 10).
- Wirex Card is clearly stronger on: Fees.
- A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.
N26 is a good fit for
- Frequent travellers
Wirex Card is a good fit for
- Stablecoin holders
- Frequent travellers
Stronger on: Fees
Score by criterion
| Criterion | N26 | Wirex Card |
|---|---|---|
| Fees | 82 | 100 |
| Cashback & rewards | – | 26 |
| Availability | 70 | – |
| FX & international | 100 | 100 |
| Product features | 100 | 100 |
| Custody & security | – | – |
| Credit & financing | 30 | – |
| Limits & ATM | 66 | 64 |
| Transparency | 79 | 86 |
| Best for Cashback | n/a | 5.3 |
| Best for Travel | 8.3 | 8.1 |
| Best for DeFi Users | n/a | 6.2 |
| Best for Stablecoins | n/a | 7.6 |
| Best for High Spenders | 6.6 | 6.1 |
| Best for Low Fees | 8.4 | 9.3 |
| Best for Beginners | 7.8 | 7.7 |
| Best E-Money Card | 8.5 | n/a |
Product
Product status
ActiveShow source
Product status: Active
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
ActiveShow source
Product status: Active
Source: X-tras pricing: plans and tiers
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Card type
Debit cardShow source
Card type: Debit card
Source states (paraphrased): Free virtual debit card
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Debit cardShow source
Card type: Debit card
Source states (paraphrased): The Wirex card is a debit card that is linked to your Wirex account.
Source: What is the Wirex card?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Network
MastercardShow source
Network: Mastercard
Source states (paraphrased): qualifying transactions made with your N26 Mastercard
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Tiers / plans
Standard · Smart · Go · MetalShow source
Tiers / plans: Standard · Smart · Go · Metal
Source states (paraphrased): N26 Smart and N26 Go customers can choose from one of five card colors.
Source: What's the difference between debit vs. credit cards?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Standard · Premium · Elite*Show source
Tiers / plans: Standard · Premium · Elite
Each plan has Entry tier plus WXT-lock boost tiers (Enhanced/Ultimate)
Source states (paraphrased): The program offers three different X-tras subscription plans: Standard, Premium, and Elite.
Source: X-tras pricing plans and tiers
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Each plan has Entry tier plus WXT-lock boost tiers (Enhanced/Ultimate)
Fees
Monthly fee
Free*Show source
Monthly fee: Free
Standard account
Source: Bank for free with an N26 account (Belgium)
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Standard account
Free*Show source
Monthly fee: Free
Standard plan free; Premium €9.99/month or €102/year; Elite €29.99/month or €306/year
Source states (paraphrased): it is available to all Wirex users for free
Source: X-tras pricing plans and tiers
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Standard plan free; Premium €9.99/month or €102/year; Elite €29.99/month or €306/year
Physical card fee
€10*Show source
Physical card fee: €10
Standard plan; included in Smart, Go and Metal
Source states (paraphrased): Physical card €10
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Standard plan; included in Smart, Go and Metal
Free*Show source
Physical card fee: Free
Card issuance free in all regions; delivery fee separate (EEA: 5 EUR untracked, 15 EUR DHL Express)
Source states (paraphrased): | Card Issuance | Free | Free | Free | Free | Free | Free
Source: Wirex fees
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%
Card issuance free in all regions; delivery fee separate (EEA: 5 EUR untracked, 15 EUR DHL Express)
Virtual card fee
Free*Show source
Virtual card fee: Free
First virtual card free on Standard
Source states (paraphrased): Free virtual debit card
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
First virtual card free on Standard
FX fee
0%*Show source
FX fee: 0%
Page lists worldwide card payments as free on all plans; exchange rate not stated on this page
Source states (paraphrased): Worldwide card payments Free
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%
Page lists worldwide card payments as free on all plans; exchange rate not stated on this page
0%*Show source
FX fee: 0%
As stated on this help article
Source states (paraphrased): there are no annual or foreign exchange fees to worry about
Source: Benefits of the Wirex card explained
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 70%
As stated on this help article
Crypto conversion fee
1.5%*Show source
Crypto conversion fee: 1.5%
N26 Crypto (Bitpanda) trading fee for Bitcoin; 2.5% for other coins, 3.5% for low-liquidity coins; N26 Metal 0.5% discount up to €5,000 order volume per month
Source states (paraphrased): Trades are subject to a transaction fee of 1.5% for Bitcoin and 2.5% for all other coins
Source: N26 Crypto: conveniently trade over 400 cryptocurrencies
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%
N26 Crypto (Bitpanda) trading fee for Bitcoin; 2.5% for other coins, 3.5% for low-liquidity coins; N26 Metal 0.5% discount up to €5,000 order volume per month
Top-up fee
Free*Show source
Top-up fee: Free
SEPA (EUR) bank transfer deposit free; local card funding 0% or more depending on currency/country
Source states (paraphrased): | Sepa (EUR)* | Free
Source: Wirex fees
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%
SEPA (EUR) bank transfer deposit free; local card funding 0% or more depending on currency/country
ATM fee
1.7%*Show source
ATM fee: 1.7%
Withdrawals outside the eurozone on Standard and Smart; free on Go and Metal. Euro withdrawals: 2 free per month on Standard (3 Smart, 5 Go, 8 Metal); fee beyond the quota not stated on this page
Source states (paraphrased): ATM withdrawals outside the eurozone 1.7% fee
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%
Withdrawals outside the eurozone on Standard and Smart; free on Go and Metal. Euro withdrawals: 2 free per month on Standard (3 Smart, 5 Go, 8 Metal); fee beyond the quota not stated on this page
2%*Show source
ATM fee: 2%
EEA: after 200 EUR free monthly
Source states (paraphrased): Free up to 200 EUR monthly, 2% thereafter
Source: Wirex fees
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
EEA: after 200 EUR free monthly
Free ATM allowance
€200/month*Show source
Free ATM allowance: €200/month
EEA, per month
Source states (paraphrased): Free up to 200 EUR monthly, 2% thereafter
Source: Wirex fees
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
EEA, per month
Other fees & markups
N26 Standard: one-off fee covering delivery of a physical debit card (amount not stated)Show source
Other fees & markups: N26 Standard: one-off fee covering delivery of a physical debit card (amount not stated)
Source states (paraphrased): N26 Standard account holders can get a debit card paired with their N26 account against a one-off fee covering the delivery.
Source: What's the difference between debit vs. credit cards?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Card delivery fee in EEA: 5 EUR (DHL WorldMail, untracked) or 15 EUR (DHL Express) · Crypto transfers to external wallets: variable network-based fees · Local card top-up: 0% or more depending on currency and country · One-off GBP 30 administrative fee on account closure for Terms of Service violationsShow source
Other fees & markups: Card delivery fee in EEA: 5 EUR (DHL WorldMail, untracked) or 15 EUR (DHL Express) · Crypto transfers to external wallets: variable network-based fees · Local card top-up: 0% or more depending on currency and country · One-off GBP 30 administrative fee on account closure for Terms of Service violations
Source states (paraphrased): | European Economic Area | DHLWorldMail (not trackable) | 5 EUR |
Source: Wirex fees
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%
Cashback & rewards
Base cashback
0.5%*Show source
Base cashback: 0.5%
Standard plan, Entry tier
Source states (paraphrased): Standard Entry tier offers 0.5% Cryptoback on card purchases.
Source: X-tras pricing: plans and tiers
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Standard plan, Entry tier
Max cashback
8%*Show source
Max cashback: 8%
Elite plan (€29.99/month) at the Ultimate WXT-lock tier
Source states (paraphrased): Elite Ultimate tier reaches 8% Cryptoback.
Source: X-tras pricing: plans and tiers
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Elite plan (€29.99/month) at the Ultimate WXT-lock tier
Cashback paid in
WXTShow source
Cashback paid in: WXT
Source: Wirex's Cryptoback™ rewards explained
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Cashback type
Crypto*Show source
Cashback type: Crypto
Cryptoback rewards program
Source states (paraphrased): Cryptoback™ , that allows you to earn cryptocurrency every time you use your card
Source: What is the Wirex card?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%
Cryptoback rewards program
Cashback conditions
Standard Enhanced 1%: lock 150,000 WXT for 180 days · Premium (€9.99/month): 1% Entry, 2% with 250,000 WXT, 3% with 750,000 WXT locked · Elite (€29.99/month): 4% Entry, 6% with 1,500,000 WXT, 8% with 7,500,000 WXT lockedShow source
Cashback conditions: Standard Enhanced 1%: lock 150,000 WXT for 180 days · Premium (€9.99/month): 1% Entry, 2% with 250,000 WXT, 3% with 750,000 WXT locked · Elite (€29.99/month): 4% Entry, 6% with 1,500,000 WXT, 8% with 7,500,000 WXT locked
Source states (paraphrased): Users can upgrade to the Enhanced or Ultimate tier by locking 1,500,000 WXT or 7,500,000 WXT tokens, respectively, for 180 days.
Source: X-tras pricing plans and tiers
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Staking / holding required for top rewards
Yes*Show source
Staking / holding required for top rewards: Yes
Higher tiers require locking WXT for 180 days (e.g. 150,000 WXT for Standard Enhanced)
Source: X-tras pricing: plans and tiers
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Higher tiers require locking WXT for 180 days (e.g. 150,000 WXT for Standard Enhanced)
Staking asset
WXTShow source
Staking asset: WXT
Source: X-tras pricing: plans and tiers
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Reward exclusions
Cash withdrawals · TransfersShow source
Reward exclusions: Cash withdrawals · Transfers
Source: Cryptoback™ FAQ
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Credit & financing
Credit line
NoShow source
Credit line: No
Source states (paraphrased): Credit cards are not currently offered.
Source: What's the difference between debit vs. credit cards?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Credit type
NoneShow source
Credit type: None
Source states (paraphrased): Credit cards are not currently offered.
Source: What's the difference between debit vs. credit cards?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Availability
Available in
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland*Show source
Available in: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
21 countries listed: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (not DOM/TOM), Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland; residency and requirements apply
Source states (paraphrased): We offer our accounts in the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (not available for residents in the DOM/TOM)
Source: Availability across Countries
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
21 countries listed: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (not DOM/TOM), Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland; residency and requirements apply
Own IBAN / bank details
YesShow source
Own IBAN / bank details: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Give your N26 account IBAN to your employer
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Features
Apple Pay
YesShow source
Apple Pay: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Add it to Google Pay, Samsung Pay or Apple Pay
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
YesShow source
Apple Pay: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Apple Pay makes it easy to pay with your Wirex card on your iPhone, Apple Watch, Mac, iPad, and Apple Vision Pro
Source: Wirex - Apple Pay
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 24 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Google Pay
YesShow source
Google Pay: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Add it to Google Pay, Samsung Pay or Apple Pay
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Physical card
YesShow source
Physical card: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): If you ordered a physical debit card, this will arrive via post.
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
YesShow source
Physical card: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): The Wirex card comes in both virtual and physical forms
Source: Benefits of the Wirex card explained
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Virtual card
YesShow source
Virtual card: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Free virtual debit card
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
YesShow source
Virtual card: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): The Wirex card comes in both virtual and physical forms
Source: Benefits of the Wirex card explained
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
ATM withdrawals
YesShow source
ATM withdrawals: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): 2 free ATM withdrawals in euros
Source: Compare N26 bank account features and services
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
YesShow source
ATM withdrawals: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): the physical card can be used at any point of sale or ATM that accepts Visa or Mastercard
Source: Benefits of the Wirex card explained
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Spend stablecoins
YesShow source
Spend stablecoins: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): make purchases with cash, stablecoins, and cryptocurrencies
Source: Benefits of the Wirex card explained
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Security & custody
Regulation / licences
German full banking licence (BaFin)Show source
Regulation / licences: German full banking licence (BaFin)
Source states (paraphrased): N26 has been granted a full German banking license from BaFin.
Source: Bank for free with an N26 account (Belgium)
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Deposit protection
Yes*Show source
Deposit protection: Yes
Up to €100,000
Source states (paraphrased): protected up to €100,000 by the German Deposit Guarantee Scheme
Source: Bank for free with an N26 account (Belgium)
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
Up to €100,000
Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month
N26
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costs−20 EUR
- Cashbackunknown
- Net annual valuenot enough data
Wirex Card
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costs+0 EUR
- Cashback+90 EUR
- Net annual value90 EUR
Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers