savebackcards.com

N26 vs Solayer Pay

N26

E-money / FinTech

6.2
Solayer Pay

Crypto native

6.2

Verdict

  • N26 and Solayer Pay have the same overall score (6.2/10).
  • N26 is clearly stronger on: Availability, FX & international.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

N26 is a good fit for

  • Frequent travellers

Stronger on: Availability, FX & international

Solayer Pay is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Stablecoin holders

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionN26Solayer Pay
Fees8283
Cashback & rewards4–
Availability7050
FX & international10040
Product features7070
Custody & security7580
Credit & financing3030
Limits & ATM66–
Transparency93100
Best for Cashback4.1n/a
Best for Travel7.65.6
Best for Self-Custodyn/a7.2
Best for DeFi Usersn/a6.5
Best for Stablecoinsn/a6.8
Best for High Spenders4.75.5
Best for Low Fees8.67.0
Best for Beginners7.17.5
Best E-Money Card8.2n/a

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Stablecoin cardShow source

Network

MastercardShow source
VisaShow source

Custody model

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

The provider holds the funds

Self-custodyShow source

Tiers / plans

Standard · Smart · Go · MetalShow source
No data yet

Fees

Annual fee

No data yet
$20/yearConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Membership; covers the virtual card for 12 months

Monthly fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard account

No data yet

Physical card fee

€10Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard plan; included in Smart, Go and Metal

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Card free; shipping $24.99 (US Express) or $59.99 (International Express)

Virtual card fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

First virtual card free on Standard

No data yet

FX fee

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Page lists worldwide card payments as free on all plans; exchange rate not stated on this page

1.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plus $0.10 per international transaction

Crypto conversion fee

1.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

N26 Crypto (Bitpanda) trading fee for Bitcoin; 2.5% for other coins, 3.5% for low-liquidity coins; N26 Metal 0.5% discount up to €5,000 order volume per month

No data yet

Top-up fee

No data yet
1%Show source

ATM fee

1.7%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Withdrawals outside the eurozone on Standard and Smart; free on Go and Metal. Euro withdrawals: 2 free per month on Standard (3 Smart, 5 Go, 8 Metal); fee beyond the quota not stated on this page

No data yet

Settlement fee

No data yet
$0.15Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Per USD transaction

Other fees & markups

N26 Standard: one-off fee covering delivery of a physical debit card (amount not stated)Show source
Card deactivated after 6 months of inactivity; a new card must be issuedShow source

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard: no cashback; Go and Metal get 1% travel cashback

No data yet

Max cashback

1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Travel cashback on Go (9.90 €/month) and Metal (16.90 €/month) only

No data yet

Cashback type

No data yet
PointsShow source

Interest on balance

0.3%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Tagesgeld (savings) on Standard, variable; Go 0.50%, Metal 1.50% p.a.

5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

4–5% on sUSD, a Treasury-backed stablecoin users can opt into

Cashback conditions

No data yet
Every transaction earns Solayer Card Points (Season 2), for future LAYER token rewards and partner perks · Referrers earn 10% of their referrals' pointsShow source

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoShow source
NoShow source

Credit type

NoneShow source
No data yet

Availability

Available in

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, SwitzerlandConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

21 countries listed: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (not DOM/TOM), Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland; residency and requirements apply

GlobalConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Except the excluded countries and 17 US states

Not available in

No data yet
AF, AL, AD, Australia, Austria, BY, Belgium, BA, Bulgaria, BF, BI, KH, Canada, CF, CN, Croatia, CU, Cyprus, Czechia, CD, Denmark, ER, Estonia, Finland, France, GE, Germany, Greece, GN, GW, HT, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, IR, IQ, Ireland, Israel, Italy, JM, JO, XK, LA, Latvia, LB, LR, LY, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, ML, Malta, MD, MC, ME, MA, MZ, MM, Netherlands, New Zealand, NI, Nigeria, KP, Norway, PS, Poland, Portugal, QA, Romania, RU, SM, RS, Slovakia, SO, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, SD, Sweden, Switzerland, SY, Thailand, Turkey, UG, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, VU, VE, EH, YE, PW, NP, VietnamConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Residents or citizens, regardless of current residence

Own IBAN / bank details

YesShow source
No data yet

Features

Apple Pay

YesShow source
YesShow source

Google Pay

YesShow source
YesShow source

Physical card

YesShow source
YesShow source

Virtual card

YesShow source
YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

YesShow source
YesShow source

Spend stablecoins

No data yet
YesShow source

Airport lounge access

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard: 33 € per visit; Go first visit 15 €, Metal first visit per year free

No data yet

Travel / rental car insurance

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only Go and Metal plans (not Standard)

No data yet

Purchase protection

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only Metal plan

No data yet

Blockchains

No data yet
Solayer ChainShow source

Limits

ATM limit

No data yet
$250Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Per withdrawal, incl. ATM surcharges; at most three attempts per 24 hours

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

German full banking licence (BaFin)Show source
No data yet

Deposit protection

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to €100,000

No data yet

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

N26

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−20 EUR
  • Cashback+0 EUR
  • Net annual value-20 EUR

Solayer Pay

  • Annual & monthly fees−18 EUR
  • FX costs−54 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • Per-transaction feesunknown
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers