savebackcards.com
Menu

Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you apply through these links, we may receive compensation at no additional cost to you. Affiliate relationships never influence our scores. Read our affiliate disclosure

MetaMask Card vs Nexo Card

MetaMask Card

Crypto native

7.2
Nexo Card

Crypto native

6.1

Verdict

  • MetaMask Card scores higher overall (7.2 vs 6.1 out of 10).
  • MetaMask Card is clearly stronger on: Cashback & rewards, FX & international.
  • Nexo Card is clearly stronger on: Credit & financing.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

MetaMask Card is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Stablecoin holders
  • Frequent travellers

Stronger on: Cashback & rewards, FX & international

Nexo Card is a good fit for

  • Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card

Stronger on: Credit & financing

Score by criterion

CriterionMetaMask CardNexo Card
Fees100100
Cashback & rewards278
Availability100100
FX & international10020
Product features––
Custody & security80–
Credit & financing3085
Limits & ATM–80
Transparency8686
Best for Cashback5.74.3
Best for Travel7.95.4
Best for Self-Custody7.4n/a
Best for DeFi Users6.35.5
Best for Stablecoins7.6n/a
Best for High Spenders5.54.5
Best for Low Fees9.07.5
Best for Beginners7.57.1
Best Crypto Credit Cardn/a7.2

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source

Product status: Active

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

ActiveShow source

Product status: Active

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Card type

Debit cardShow source

Card type: Debit card

Source states (paraphrased): Self-custodial debit card.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Crypto-backed credit, Debit card*Show source

Card type: Crypto-backed credit, Debit card

Switch mode per payment

Source states (paraphrased): Dual-mode card: Credit Mode (borrow against crypto) and Debit Mode (spend crypto directly).

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Switch mode per payment

Network

MastercardShow source

Network: Mastercard

Source states (paraphrased): Accepted wherever Mastercard is accepted (150M+ merchants).

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

No data yet

Custody model

Self-custodyShow source

Custody model: Self-custody

Source states (paraphrased): Card spends from your self-custodial MetaMask wallet.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

No data yet

Tiers / plans

Virtual (free) · Metal ($199/year)Show source

Tiers / plans: Virtual (free) · Metal ($199/year)

Source: MetaMask Metal card

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

No data yet

Fees

Annual fee

Free*Show source

Annual fee: Free

Virtual card; Metal tier $199/year

Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card has no annual or maintenance fees; Metal is $199 a year.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Virtual card; Metal tier $199/year

FreeShow source

Annual fee: Free

Source states (paraphrased): No monthly, annual or inactivity fees.

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Monthly fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

Monthly fee: Free

Source states (paraphrased): No monthly, annual or inactivity fees.

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

FX fee

0%*Show source

FX fee: 0%

Mastercard exchange rate, no additional MetaMask fee

Source states (paraphrased): Best FX rate allowed by Mastercard, no additional fees.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Mastercard exchange rate, no additional MetaMask fee

2%*Show source

FX fee: 2%

Weekdays, non-EEA/UK/CH currencies; 0.2% for EEA/UK/CH currencies; higher on weekends

Source states (paraphrased): FX fees on weekdays: 0.2% EEA/UK/CH, 2% rest of world; higher weekend rates.

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Weekdays, non-EEA/UK/CH currencies; 0.2% for EEA/UK/CH currencies; higher on weekends

ATM fee

No data yet
2% (min. €1.99)*Show source

ATM fee: 2% (min. €1.99)

After the free monthly allowance

Source states (paraphrased): 2% fee (min €1.99) per withdrawal above the free limit.

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

After the free monthly allowance

Free ATM allowance

No data yet
€2,000/month*Show source

Free ATM allowance: €2,000/month

Up to; top loyalty tier, lower tiers get less

Source states (paraphrased): Top tier: free ATM withdrawals up to €2,000 / £1,800 per month.

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Up to; top loyalty tier, lower tiers get less

Other fees & markups

Small per-transaction fee on the Virtual card (amount not stated) · Gas cost when claiming cashbackShow source

Other fees & markups: Small per-transaction fee on the Virtual card (amount not stated) · Gas cost when claiming cashback

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Weekend FX surcharge on top of weekday FX ratesShow source

Other fees & markups: Weekend FX surcharge on top of weekday FX rates

Source states (paraphrased): Higher FX rates apply on weekends.

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

1%*Show source

Base cashback: 1%

Virtual card, eligible purchases

Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card earns 1% back in mUSD.

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Virtual card, eligible purchases

No data yet

Max cashback

3%*Show source

Max cashback: 3%

Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%

Source states (paraphrased): 3% mUSD back on the first $10,000 spent each year, 1% thereafter.

Source: MetaMask Metal card

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%

2%*Show source

Max cashback: 2%

Up to; Credit Mode only, depends on loyalty tier

Source states (paraphrased): Up to 2% cashback in NEXO Tokens or Bitcoin on Credit Mode spending.

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Up to; Credit Mode only, depends on loyalty tier

Cashback paid in

mUSDShow source

Cashback paid in: mUSD

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

NEXO or BTCShow source

Cashback paid in: NEXO or BTC

Source states (paraphrased): Cashback paid in NEXO Tokens or Bitcoin.

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Cashback type

StablecoinShow source

Cashback type: Stablecoin

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Platform tokenShow source

Cashback type: Platform token

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Minimum balance

No data yet
$5,000*Show source

Minimum balance: $5,000

Digital-asset balance required to earn cashback

Source states (paraphrased): Cashback requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets.

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Digital-asset balance required to earn cashback

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoShow source

Credit line: No

Source states (paraphrased): Described as a self-custodial debit card.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Yes*Show source

Credit line: Yes

Credit Mode

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Credit Mode

Credit type

No data yet
Crypto-backed creditShow source

Credit type: Crypto-backed credit

Source states (paraphrased): Credit Mode borrows against your crypto.

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Spend own balance directly

YesShow source

Spend own balance directly: Yes

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Yes*Show source

Spend own balance directly: Yes

Debit Mode

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Debit Mode

Spend by borrowing against collateral

No data yet
Yes*Show source

Spend by borrowing against collateral: Yes

Credit Mode

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Credit Mode

Availability

Available in

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, EEA, Mexico, Switzerland, United States, United Kingdom*Show source

Available in: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, EEA, Mexico, Switzerland, United States, United Kingdom

Issuer lists 'Europe'; mapped to EEA

Source states (paraphrased): Available in Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Europe, Mexico, Switzerland, the US and the UK.

Source: MetaMask Card FAQs

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Issuer lists 'Europe'; mapped to EEA

EEA, United Kingdom, Argentina*Show source

Available in: EEA, United Kingdom, Argentina

Inferred from Nexo's regional card pages (EEA incl. UK pricing, Argentina)

Source: Crypto Debit & Credit Card (EEA)

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 45%

Inferred from Nexo's regional card pages (EEA incl. UK pricing, Argentina)

Features

Spend stablecoins

YesShow source

Spend stablecoins: Yes

Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

No data yet

Blockchains

Linea · Base · Solana*Show source

Blockchains: Linea · Base · Solana

Solana not supported in the US; Base not in NY and TX

Source: MetaMask and Mastercard launch the US MetaMask Card

Official announcement (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Solana not supported in the US; Base not in NY and TX

No data yet

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

MetaMask Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashback+180 EUR
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Nexo Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs−72 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs+0 EUR
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers