Curve Pay vs MetaMask Card
E-money / FinTech
Crypto native
Verdict
- MetaMask Card scores higher overall (7.2 vs 4.8 out of 10).
- MetaMask Card is clearly stronger on: Cashback & rewards, FX & international.
- A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.
Curve Pay is a good fit for
- No specific audience can be derived from the published data yet.
MetaMask Card is a good fit for
- People who want to keep control of their keys
- Stablecoin holders
- Frequent travellers
Stronger on: Cashback & rewards, FX & international
Score by criterion
| Criterion | Curve Pay | MetaMask Card |
|---|---|---|
| Fees | 100 | 100 |
| Cashback & rewards | 3 | 27 |
| Availability | – | 100 |
| FX & international | 0 | 100 |
| Product features | – | – |
| Custody & security | – | 80 |
| Credit & financing | – | 30 |
| Limits & ATM | 60 | – |
| Transparency | 86 | 86 |
| Best for Cashback | 3.4 | 5.7 |
| Best for Travel | 3.9 | 7.9 |
| Best for Self-Custody | n/a | 7.4 |
| Best for DeFi Users | n/a | 6.3 |
| Best for Stablecoins | n/a | 7.6 |
| Best for High Spenders | 3.4 | 5.5 |
| Best for Low Fees | 6.7 | 9.0 |
| Best for Beginners | 6.3 | 7.5 |
| Best E-Money Card | 5.6 | n/a |
Product
Product status
ActiveShow source
Product status: Active
Source: Fees – Curve Help Centre
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
ActiveShow source
Product status: Active
Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Card type
Debit cardShow source
Card type: Debit card
Source states (paraphrased): Self-custodial debit card.
Source: MetaMask Card FAQs
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Network
MastercardShow source
Network: Mastercard
Source states (paraphrased): Fees charged on top of the Mastercard rate.
Source: Fees – Curve Help Centre
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
MastercardShow source
Network: Mastercard
Source states (paraphrased): Accepted wherever Mastercard is accepted (150M+ merchants).
Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Custody model
Self-custodyShow source
Custody model: Self-custody
Source states (paraphrased): Card spends from your self-custodial MetaMask wallet.
Source: MetaMask Card FAQs
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Tiers / plans
Curve Pay (free) · Curve Pay X £5.99/mo · Curve Pay Pro £9.99/mo · Curve Pay Pro+ £17.99/moShow source
Tiers / plans: Curve Pay (free) · Curve Pay X £5.99/mo · Curve Pay Pro £9.99/mo · Curve Pay Pro+ £17.99/mo
Source: What Curve Pay subscription plans are available?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Virtual (free) · Metal ($199/year)Show source
Tiers / plans: Virtual (free) · Metal ($199/year)
Source: MetaMask Metal card
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Fees
Annual fee
Free*Show source
Annual fee: Free
Virtual card; Metal tier $199/year
Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card has no annual or maintenance fees; Metal is $199 a year.
Source: MetaMask Card FAQs
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Virtual card; Metal tier $199/year
Monthly fee
Free*Show source
Monthly fee: Free
Curve Pay (free plan)
Source: What Curve Pay subscription plans are available?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Curve Pay (free plan)
FX fee
2.99%*Show source
FX fee: 2.99%
Free plan above £250/month fee-free FX; paid plans £3,333–£100,000 fee-free
Source: Fees – Curve Help Centre
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Free plan above £250/month fee-free FX; paid plans £3,333–£100,000 fee-free
0%*Show source
FX fee: 0%
Mastercard exchange rate, no additional MetaMask fee
Source states (paraphrased): Best FX rate allowed by Mastercard, no additional fees.
Source: MetaMask Card FAQs
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Mastercard exchange rate, no additional MetaMask fee
ATM fee
2% (min. £2)*Show source
ATM fee: 2% (min. £2)
No free allowance on the free plan; X £300, Pro £500, Pro+ £1,000 per month
Source: Fees – Curve Help Centre
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
No free allowance on the free plan; X £300, Pro £500, Pro+ £1,000 per month
Other fees & markups
+1.5% on weekend FX spending (free plan) · 1.5% per transaction on commercial cards · 2.9% when funding through an international payment card above the allowanceShow source
Other fees & markups: +1.5% on weekend FX spending (free plan) · 1.5% per transaction on commercial cards · 2.9% when funding through an international payment card above the allowance
Source: Fees – Curve Help Centre
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Small per-transaction fee on the Virtual card (amount not stated) · Gas cost when claiming cashbackShow source
Other fees & markups: Small per-transaction fee on the Virtual card (amount not stated) · Gas cost when claiming cashback
Source: MetaMask Card FAQs
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Cashback & rewards
Base cashback
0%*Show source
Base cashback: 0%
Free plan
Source: What Curve Pay subscription plans are available?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Free plan
1%*Show source
Base cashback: 1%
Virtual card, eligible purchases
Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card earns 1% back in mUSD.
Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Virtual card, eligible purchases
Max cashback
1%*Show source
Max cashback: 1%
Paid plans: on non-European/non-UK currency spend (X) or selected retailers (Pro/Pro+, capped £25/£50 per month)
Source: Curve Cashback & Rewards
Official terms & conditions (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Paid plans: on non-European/non-UK currency spend (X) or selected retailers (Pro/Pro+, capped £25/£50 per month)
3%*Show source
Max cashback: 3%
Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%
Source states (paraphrased): 3% mUSD back on the first $10,000 spent each year, 1% thereafter.
Source: MetaMask Metal card
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Metal tier ($199/yr), first $10,000 spent per year, then 1%
Cashback paid in
mUSDShow source
Cashback paid in: mUSD
Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Cashback type
FiatShow source
Cashback type: Fiat
Source: Curve Cashback & Rewards
Official terms & conditions (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
StablecoinShow source
Cashback type: Stablecoin
Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Credit & financing
Credit line
NoShow source
Credit line: No
Source states (paraphrased): Described as a self-custodial debit card.
Source: MetaMask Card FAQs
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Spend own balance directly
YesShow source
Spend own balance directly: Yes
Source: MetaMask Card FAQs
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Availability
Available in
Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, EEA, Mexico, Switzerland, United States, United Kingdom*Show source
Available in: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, EEA, Mexico, Switzerland, United States, United Kingdom
Issuer lists 'Europe'; mapped to EEA
Source states (paraphrased): Available in Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Europe, Mexico, Switzerland, the US and the UK.
Source: MetaMask Card FAQs
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Issuer lists 'Europe'; mapped to EEA
Features
Spend stablecoins
YesShow source
Spend stablecoins: Yes
Source: Spend crypto for everyday purchases with MetaMask Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Blockchains
Linea · Base · Solana*Show source
Blockchains: Linea · Base · Solana
Solana not supported in the US; Base not in NY and TX
Source: MetaMask and Mastercard launch the US MetaMask Card
Official announcement (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Solana not supported in the US; Base not in NY and TX
Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month
Curve Pay
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs−108 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costs−28 EUR
- Cashback+0 EUR
- Net annual value-136 EUR
MetaMask Card
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costsunknown
- Cashback+180 EUR
- Net annual valuenot enough data
Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers