bunq vs Trade Republic Card
E-money / FinTech
Crypto enabled
Verdict
- bunq scores higher overall (7.9 vs 6.8 out of 10).
- Trade Republic Card is clearly stronger on: Limits & ATM.
- A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.
bunq is a good fit for
- Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card
- Frequent travellers
Trade Republic Card is a good fit for
- Frequent travellers
Stronger on: Limits & ATM
Score by criterion
| Criterion | bunq | Trade Republic Card |
|---|---|---|
| Fees | 100 | 100 |
| Cashback & rewards | – | 24 |
| Availability | 90 | – |
| FX & international | 100 | 100 |
| Product features | 100 | 100 |
| Custody & security | – | – |
| Credit & financing | 70 | – |
| Limits & ATM | 70 | 90 |
| Transparency | 79 | 79 |
| Best for Cashback | n/a | 5.3 |
| Best for Travel | 8.8 | 8.5 |
| Best for High Spenders | 7.3 | 6.2 |
| Best for Low Fees | 9.2 | 9.5 |
| Best for Beginners | 8.4 | 7.6 |
| Best Crypto Credit Card | 7.0 | n/a |
| Best E-Money Card | 9.3 | 9.2 |
Product
Product status
ActiveShow source
Product status: Active
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
ActiveShow source
Product status: Active
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Card type
Debit card, Credit card*Show source
Card type: Debit card, Credit card
Debit Card or Credit Card; Credit Card can pay from own money or with an optional Credit Limit
Source states (paraphrased): Included from bunq Core, as a Debit Card or a Credit Card.
Source: Discover bunq credit, digital and metal cards
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Debit Card or Credit Card; Credit Card can pay from own money or with an optional Credit Limit
Debit cardShow source
Card type: Debit card
Source states (paraphrased): The Trade Republic card is a Visa Debit Card.
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Network
MastercardShow source
Network: Mastercard
Source states (paraphrased): ZeroFX uses real Mastercard rates.
Source: ZeroFX with bunq
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%
VisaShow source
Network: Visa
Source states (paraphrased): The Trade Republic card is a Visa Debit Card.
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Card issuer / program manager
bunq B.V.Show source
Card issuer / program manager: bunq B.V.
Source states (paraphrased): bunq B.V. trading as bunq is licensed by the Dutch Central Bank (DNB) in the Netherlands
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 70%
Trade Republic Bank GmbHShow source
Card issuer / program manager: Trade Republic Bank GmbH
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Tiers / plans
Free €0 · Core €3.99/mo · Pro €9.99/mo · Elite €18.99/moShow source
Tiers / plans: Free €0 · Core €3.99/mo · Pro €9.99/mo · Elite €18.99/mo
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%
Virtual · Classic · MirrorShow source
Tiers / plans: Virtual · Classic · Mirror
Source states (paraphrased): You have the choice between a virtual card (free), Classic Card (5 € delivery fee) and Mirror Card (50 € delivery fee).
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Fees
Monthly fee
Free*Show source
Monthly fee: Free
Free plan; Core €3.99, Pro €9.99, Elite €18.99 per month
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Free plan; Core €3.99, Pro €9.99, Elite €18.99 per month
FreeShow source
Monthly fee: Free
Source states (paraphrased): There is no monthly subscription fee.
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Physical card fee
€99*Show source
Physical card fee: €99
Metal card on Pro and Elite; extra physical cards €9.99 plus a monthly fee
Source: Discover bunq credit, digital and metal cards
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Metal card on Pro and Elite; extra physical cards €9.99 plus a monthly fee
€5*Show source
Physical card fee: €5
Classic card, one-time delivery fee (again on renewal or replacement); Mirror card 50 €
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Classic card, one-time delivery fee (again on renewal or replacement); Mirror card 50 €
Virtual card fee
FreeShow source
Virtual card fee: Free
Source states (paraphrased): Get a free virtual card the moment you sign up.
Source: Discover bunq credit, digital and metal cards
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
FreeShow source
Virtual card fee: Free
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
FX fee
0%*Show source
FX fee: 0%
ZeroFX card payments abroad: Free plan up to €1,000 per year (fee beyond not stated on this page); Core, Pro, Elite unlimited
Source states (paraphrased): ZeroFX card payments abroad Up to €1,000 per year Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 70%
ZeroFX card payments abroad: Free plan up to €1,000 per year (fee beyond not stated on this page); Core, Pro, Elite unlimited
0%*Show source
FX fee: 0%
Visa exchange rate without a Trade Republic currency exchange fee
Source states (paraphrased): We do not add any currency exchange fees.
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Visa exchange rate without a Trade Republic currency exchange fee
ATM fee
€2.99*Show source
ATM fee: €2.99
Free plan: €2.99 each; Core/Pro/Elite: €0.99 for the first 5/month, then €2.99; Pro and Elite include 6 free withdrawals/month
Source states (paraphrased): Extra ATM Withdrawals €2.99 each €0.99 for the first 5/month, then €2.99
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Free plan: €2.99 each; Core/Pro/Elite: €0.99 for the first 5/month, then €2.99; Pro and Elite include 6 free withdrawals/month
€1*Show source
ATM fee: €1
Only for withdrawals below 100 €; from 100 € free with the Classic and Mirror cards; ATM operators may charge their own fee
Source states (paraphrased): Withdrawals below 100 € have a 1 € fee.
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Only for withdrawals below 100 €; from 100 € free with the Classic and Mirror cards; ATM operators may charge their own fee
Other fees & markups
Metal card €99 per card (Pro/Elite)Show source
Other fees & markups: Metal card €99 per card (Pro/Elite)
Source states (paraphrased): Metal Card ✕ ✕ €99 per card €99 per card
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%
Cashback & rewards
Base cashback
1%*Show source
Base cashback: 1%
Saveback on up to 1,500 € of eligible card spend per month, paid into your savings plan
Source states (paraphrased): Get 1 % back on up to 1,500 € monthly eligible card spending.
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Saveback on up to 1,500 € of eligible card spend per month, paid into your savings plan
Max cashback
2%*Show source
Max cashback: 2%
Crypto Saveback when paying with crypto; same 1,500 € monthly cap; crypto-funded payments count as a sale
Source states (paraphrased): Get 2 % back on up to 1,500 € monthly eligible card spending if you use crypto.
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Crypto Saveback when paying with crypto; same 1,500 € monthly cap; crypto-funded payments count as a sale
Cashback type
Fiat*Show source
Cashback type: Fiat
Paid by Trade Republic directly into your savings plan (invested)
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Paid by Trade Republic directly into your savings plan (invested)
Cashback-eligible spend cap
€1,500/monthShow source
Cashback-eligible spend cap: €1,500/month
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Cashback conditions
Activate Saveback in the app · Invest at least 50 € per month in savings plans · Saveback is invested into your savings planShow source
Cashback conditions: Activate Saveback in the app · Invest at least 50 € per month in savings plans · Saveback is invested into your savings plan
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Credit & financing
Credit line
Yes*Show source
Credit line: Yes
Optional Credit Limit on the Credit Card
Source states (paraphrased): Pay from your own money, or add a Credit Limit if you want more flexibility.
Source: Discover bunq credit, digital and metal cards
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%
Optional Credit Limit on the Credit Card
Spend own balance directly
YesShow source
Spend own balance directly: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Pay from your own money, or add a Credit Limit if you want more flexibility.
Source: Discover bunq credit, digital and metal cards
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Availability
Available in
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden*Show source
Available in: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden
bunq personal account (all bunq cards require one): citizens and residents of the listed supported EEA countries; non-EU citizens living there may also sign up with suitable documents. Overseas regions/territories excluded. Minors allowed with guardian permission.
Source states (paraphrased): 🇦🇹 Austria, 🇧🇪 Belgium, 🇧🇬 Bulgaria, 🇭🇷 Croatia, 🇨🇾 Cyprus, 🇨🇿 Czech Republic, 🇩🇰 Denmark, 🇪🇪 Estonia, 🇫🇮 Finland, 🇫🇷 France, 🇩🇪 Germany, 🇬🇷 Greece, 🇭🇺 Hungary, 🇮🇪 Ireland, 🇮🇹Italy, 🇱🇻 Latvia, 🇱🇹 Lithuania, 🇱🇺 Luxembourg, 🇲🇹 Malta, 🇳🇱 the Netherlands, 🇵🇱 Poland, 🇵🇹 Portugal, 🇷🇴 Romania, 🇸🇰 Slovakia, 🇸🇮 Slovenia, 🇪🇸 Spain and 🇸🇪 Sweden
Source: Who can open a bunq Personal account?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
bunq personal account (all bunq cards require one): citizens and residents of the listed supported EEA countries; non-EU citizens living there may also sign up with suitable documents. Overseas regions/territories excluded. Minors allowed with guardian permission.
Not available in
AW, BQ, CW, PF, TF, GL, NC, BL, PM, SX, WF, GF, GP, MQ, YT, RE*Show source
Not available in: AW, BQ, CW, PF, TF, GL, NC, BL, PM, SX, WF, GF, GP, MQ, YT, RE
Residents of Overseas Countries and Territories (Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, Greenland, New Caledonia, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Wallis and Futuna) and French overseas regions (French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion) cannot currently open an account. Non-EEA residents can join a country waitlist.
Source states (paraphrased): Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs): Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, Greenland, New Caledonia, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon
Source: Who can open a bunq Personal account?
Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%
Residents of Overseas Countries and Territories (Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, Greenland, New Caledonia, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Wallis and Futuna) and French overseas regions (French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion) cannot currently open an account. Non-EEA residents can join a country waitlist.
Own IBAN / bank details
Yes*Show source
Own IBAN / bank details: Yes
Free 3, Core 5, Pro/Elite 25 accounts; local IBAN in your country on all plans
Source states (paraphrased): Bank Accounts, each with its own IBAN
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Free 3, Core 5, Pro/Elite 25 accounts; local IBAN in your country on all plans
Features
Apple Pay
Yes*Show source
Apple Pay: Yes
All plans
Source states (paraphrased): Apple Pay ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
All plans
Google Pay
Yes*Show source
Google Pay: Yes
All plans
Source states (paraphrased): Google Pay ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
All plans
Physical card
Yes*Show source
Physical card: Yes
Not on Free plan; Core 1 included, Pro/Elite 3 included
Source states (paraphrased): Physical Card ✕ 1 included 3 included 3 included
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Not on Free plan; Core 1 included, Pro/Elite 3 included
YesShow source
Physical card: Yes
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Virtual card
Yes*Show source
Virtual card: Yes
Free/Core 1 digital card, Pro/Elite 25
Source states (paraphrased): Digital Cards 1 included 1 included 25 included 25 included
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Free/Core 1 digital card, Pro/Elite 25
YesShow source
Virtual card: Yes
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
ATM withdrawals
YesShow source
ATM withdrawals: Yes
Source states (paraphrased): Free ATM Withdrawals ✕ ✕ 6/month 6/month
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Yes*Show source
ATM withdrawals: Yes
Classic and Mirror cards
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Classic and Mirror cards
Limits
ATM limit
€1,000*Show source
ATM limit: €1,000
Personal accounts, per calendar day per person, for accounts verified 3 months or longer; €250 per day for accounts verified less than 3 months ago. Business: €1,000 per card per day.
Source states (paraphrased): Account verified 3 months or longer: €1,000 per calendar day, per person.
Source: Need cash?
Official product page (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%
Personal accounts, per calendar day per person, for accounts verified 3 months or longer; €250 per day for accounts verified less than 3 months ago. Business: €1,000 per card per day.
Security & custody
Regulation / licences
Licensed by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) · Regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland for conduct of business rulesShow source
Regulation / licences: Licensed by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) · Regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland for conduct of business rules
Source states (paraphrased): bunq B.V. trading as bunq is licensed by the Dutch Central Bank (DNB) in the Netherlands and is regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland for conduct of business rules.
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%
Deposit protection
Yes*Show source
Deposit protection: Yes
Up to €100,000 via the Dutch Deposit Guarantee Scheme
Source states (paraphrased): Your deposits are covered by the Dutch Deposit Guarantee Scheme.
Source: Compare bunq Personal Plans
Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)
Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%
Up to €100,000 via the Dutch Deposit Guarantee Scheme
Yes*Show source
Deposit protection: Yes
Cash in omnibus trust accounts at partner banks, protected up to 100,000 € per customer; securities are not covered
Source: The Trade Republic Card
Official product page (tier 1)
Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%
Cash in omnibus trust accounts at partner banks, protected up to 100,000 € per customer; securities are not covered
Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month
bunq
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costs−36 EUR
- Cashbackunknown
- Net annual valuenot enough data
Trade Republic Card
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costs−12 EUR
- Cashback+180 EUR
- Net annual value168 EUR
Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers