Verdict
- bunq scores higher overall (7.2 vs 6.4 out of 10).
- bunq is clearly stronger on: Credit & financing.
- COCA Card is clearly stronger on: Cashback & rewards, Availability, Transparency.
- A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.
bunq is a good fit for
- Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card
- Frequent travellers
Stronger on: Credit & financing
COCA Card is a good fit for
- People who want to keep control of their keys
- Stablecoin holders
Stronger on: Cashback & rewards, Availability, Transparency
★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link
Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:
Crypto native · ether.fi
Why we recommend it
- 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
- 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
- No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
- Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
- Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply
Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.
Score by criterion
| Criterion | bunq | COCA Card |
|---|---|---|
| Fees | 100 | – |
| Cashback & rewards | 16 | 51 |
| Availability | 90 | 100 |
| FX & international | 100 | – |
| Product features | 70 | 70 |
| Custody & security | 75 | 80 |
| Credit & financing | 70 | 30 |
| Limits & ATM | 70 | – |
| Transparency | 86 | 100 |
| Best for Cashback | 5.2 | 6.0 |
| Best for Travel | 8.2 | n/a |
| Best for Self-Custody | n/a | 6.8 |
| Best for DeFi Users | n/a | 6.1 |
| Best for Stablecoins | n/a | 6.2 |
| Best for High Spenders | 5.8 | 5.2 |
| Best for Low Fees | 9.3 | n/a |
| Best for Beginners | 7.7 | 7.6 |
| Best Crypto Credit Card | 6.8 | n/a |
| Best E-Money Card | 8.9 | n/a |
Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.
Product
Product status
ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source
Card type
Debit card, Credit cardConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Debit Card or Credit Card; Credit Card can pay from own money or with an optional Credit Limit
Debit cardShow source
Network
MastercardShow source
VisaShow source
Custody model
CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
The provider holds the funds
Self-custodyConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
MPC wallet powered by Privy
Card issuer / program manager
bunq B.V.Show source
Tiers / plans
Free €0 · Core €3.99/mo · Pro €9.99/mo · Elite €18.99/moShow source
Starter (0 COCA) · Standard (300) · Standard+ (1,000) · Premium (3,000) · Premium+ (10,000) · Elite (30,000)Show source
Fees
Monthly fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Free plan; Core €3.99, Pro €9.99, Elite €18.99 per month
Physical card fee
€99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Metal card on Pro and Elite; extra physical cards €9.99 plus a monthly fee
$5Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Starter to Standard+; free from Premium
Virtual card fee
FreeShow source
FreeShow source
FX fee
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
ZeroFX card payments abroad: Free plan up to €1,000 per year (fee beyond not stated on this page); Core, Pro, Elite unlimited
ATM fee
€2.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Free plan: €2.99 each; Core/Pro/Elite: €0.99 for the first 5/month, then €2.99; Pro and Elite include 6 free withdrawals/month
Other fees & markups
Metal card €99 per card (Pro/Elite)Show source
Cashback & rewards
Base cashback
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Programme ended 7 Dec 2025; partner cashback offers still available
1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Starter tier, no COCA staked
Max cashback
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Cashback programme ended 7 Dec 2025 (previously Elite/Business credit card); partner cashback offers still available
8%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Elite tier: 30,000 COCA staked (about $47,000)
Cashback paid in
Stablecoins (claimed into the USD or EUR account)Show source
Cashback type
NoneConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Cashback programme ended on 7 December 2025
StablecoinShow source
Interest on balance
3.11%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Savings interest included in every plan incl. Free; variable
5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Variable APY on USD balances; EUR balances earn none
Max cashback per month
$15/monthConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Monthly claim capacity, Starter; up to $350 at Elite (tier bonus + 1 USD per 100 COCA staked); unclaimed rewards carry over
Cashback conditions
Rewards stay pending for 14 days before they can be claimed · Monthly claim capacity: $15 (Starter) to $350 (Elite) · 50% back on 1 to 4 subscription categories from Standard tier · No cashback on ATM withdrawals, cash and quasi-cash, government payments and excluded MCCsShow source
Staking / holding required for top rewards
YesShow source
Staking asset
COCAShow source
Capital required for top rewards
$47,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
30,000 COCA (approximate value stated by COCA) for the 8% Elite tier
Credit & financing
Credit line
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Optional Credit Limit on the Credit Card
NoShow source
Spend own balance directly
YesShow source
Availability
Available in
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, SwedenConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
bunq personal account (all bunq cards require one): citizens and residents of the listed supported EEA countries; non-EU citizens living there may also sign up with suitable documents. Overseas regions/territories excluded. Minors allowed with guardian permission.
AD, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, GI, Greece, GG, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, IM, Italy, JE, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, MD, MC, ME, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Australia, AZ, GE, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, KZ, MO, Malaysia, New Zealand, OM, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, TW, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, UZ, GH, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, UG, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, EC, SV, Mexico, PA, PeruConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Residents, regardless of nationality
Not available in
AW, BQ, CW, PF, TF, GL, NC, BL, PM, SX, WF, GF, GP, MQ, YT, REConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Residents of Overseas Countries and Territories (Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, Greenland, New Caledonia, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Wallis and Futuna) and French overseas regions (French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion) cannot currently open an account. Non-EEA residents can join a country waitlist.
Account / spend currencies
USD · EURShow source
Own IBAN / bank details
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Free 3, Core 5, Pro/Elite 25 accounts; local IBAN in your country on all plans
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
EUR accounts for residents of 28 European countries (app 3.0.0+)
Features
Apple Pay
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
All plans
Google Pay
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
All plans
Physical card
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Not on Free plan; Core 1 included, Pro/Elite 3 included
YesShow source
Virtual card
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Free/Core 1 digital card, Pro/Elite 25
YesShow source
ATM withdrawals
YesShow source
Spend stablecoins
YesShow source
Travel / rental car insurance
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Only bunq Elite plan
Limits
ATM limit
€1,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Personal accounts, per calendar day per person, for accounts verified 3 months or longer; €250 per day for accounts verified less than 3 months ago. Business: €1,000 per card per day.
Security & custody
Regulation / licences
Full European banking licence issued by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB)Show source
Deposit protection
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Up to €100,000 via the Dutch Deposit Guarantee Scheme
Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month
bunq
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costs−36 EUR
- Cashback+0 EUR
- Net annual value-36 EUR
COCA Card
- Annual & monthly feesunknown
- FX costsunknown
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costsunknown
- Cashback+161 EUR
- Net annual valuenot enough data
Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers