savebackcards.com

Ethena Pay Spend Card vs CL Card (Ledger)

8.5
CL Card (Ledger)

Crypto native

6.1

Verdict

  • Ethena Pay Spend Card scores higher overall (8.5 vs 6.1 out of 10).
  • Ethena Pay Spend Card is clearly stronger on: Cashback & rewards.
  • CL Card (Ledger) is clearly stronger on: Product features, Credit & financing.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Ethena Pay Spend Card is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card
  • Everyday spenders who want cashback

Stronger on: Cashback & rewards

CL Card (Ledger) is a good fit for

  • Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card

Stronger on: Product features, Credit & financing

Score by criterion

CriterionEthena Pay Spend CardCL Card (Ledger)
Fees100–
Cashback & rewards8525
Availability100100
FX & international60–
Product features75100
Custody & security80–
Credit & financing7585
Limits & ATM78–
Transparency7986
Best for Cashback8.64.7
Best for Travel7.8n/a
Best for Self-Custody8.1n/a
Best for DeFi Users8.25.7
Best for High Spenders8.14.8
Best for Low Fees8.4n/a
Best for Beginners8.67.5
Best Crypto Credit Card8.16.7

Product

Product status

Active*Show source

Product status: Active

Beta; live in 48 countries, more announced

Source states (paraphrased): Ethena Pay is live in 48 countries across Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia & the Middle East, Africa, and Oceania.

Source: Available Jurisdictions — Ethena Pay

Official product page (tier 1)

Initial research (official source, awaiting agent verification) · retrieved 22 October 2026 · confidence 60%

Beta; live in 48 countries, more announced

ActiveShow source

Product status: Active

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

Card type

Crypto-backed credit*Show source

Card type: Crypto-backed credit

Secured: collateral in your linked self-custodial wallet secures card charges

Source states (paraphrased): Your Ethena Pay Spend Card is a secured product.

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%

Secured: collateral in your linked self-custodial wallet secures card charges

Debit cardShow source

Card type: Debit card

Source states (paraphrased): Securely fund your debit card via Ledger Wallet™.

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

Network

No data yet
Visa*Show source

Network: Visa

Stated for the US card only

Source states (paraphrased): The VISA debit card offered in the US is in partnership with Cross River Bank, Member FDIC

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 60%

Stated for the US card only

Custody model

Self-custodyShow source

Custody model: Self-custody

Source states (paraphrased): Ethena Pay does not hold, manage, custody, or have access to your funds, digital assets, or wallet credentials.

Source: FAQ — Ethena Pay

Official help center / FAQ (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 65%

No data yet

Card issuer / program manager

No data yet
BaanxShow source

Card issuer / program manager: Baanx

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Tiers / plans

Standard · Pro · VIPShow source

Tiers / plans: Standard · Pro · VIP

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

No data yet

Fees

Annual fee

Free*Show source

Annual fee: Free

No recurring subscription or account fees for a standard account

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

No recurring subscription or account fees for a standard account

No data yet

Monthly fee

FreeShow source

Monthly fee: Free

Source states (paraphrased): Monthly maintenance / account fee: Free.

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%

No data yet

Virtual card fee

FreeShow source

Virtual card fee: Free

Source states (paraphrased): Virtual card issuance: Free.

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%

Free*Show source

Virtual card fee: Free

Currency not stated on the page

Source states (paraphrased): Free virtual card

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 70%

Currency not stated on the page

Replacement fee

FreeShow source

Replacement fee: Free

Source states (paraphrased): Replacement card: Free.

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%

No data yet

FX fee

1%*Show source

FX fee: 1%

Card-network conversion fee passed through at cost, typically around 1% and varying by currency; no Ethena Pay markup; USD spend has no conversion cost

Source states (paraphrased): Typically around 1.0%, passed through directly from the applicable card network with no markup.

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%

Card-network conversion fee passed through at cost, typically around 1% and varying by currency; no Ethena Pay markup; USD spend has no conversion cost

No data yet

ATM fee

$1 + 0.65%*Show source

ATM fee: $1 + 0.65%

Only where ATM access is available; ATM operator surcharges extra

Source states (paraphrased): If ATM access is available: $1.00 plus 0.65% of the withdrawal amount.

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Only where ATM access is available; ATM operator surcharges extra

No data yet

Other fees & markups

Late payment fee up to $40 · Returned payment fee up to $29 · Third-party fees: blockchain gas, card-network assessments, merchant surcharges, funding partners (MoonPay / Iron), stablecoin issuers*Show source

Other fees & markups: Late payment fee up to $40 · Returned payment fee up to $29 · Third-party fees: blockchain gas, card-network assessments, merchant surcharges, funding partners (MoonPay / Iron), stablecoin issuers

Returned Payment Fee up to $29 and third-party fees in Sections 2.3 and 4 of the page

Source states (paraphrased): Late Payment Fee | Up to $40

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

Returned Payment Fee up to $29 and third-party fees in Sections 2.3 and 4 of the page

No data yet

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

4%*Show source

Base cashback: 4%

Standard tier on the first $2,500 of monthly spend; 1% from $2,500 to $4,000; 0% above

Source states (paraphrased): Standard: $0 – $2,500: 4%; $2,500 – $4,000: 1%; Over $4,000: 0%.

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

Standard tier on the first $2,500 of monthly spend; 1% from $2,500 to $4,000; 0% above

1%*Show source

Base cashback: 1%

Calculated monthly on all card spend

Source states (paraphrased): 1% in BTC or USDC (US) / BTC or USDT (elsewhere).

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Calculated monthly on all card spend

Max cashback

5%*Show source

Max cashback: 5%

VIP tier on the first $20,000 of monthly spend; Pro 4.5% on the first $8,000

Source states (paraphrased): Up to 5% of the U.S. dollar value of each Qualifying Card Transaction.

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

VIP tier on the first $20,000 of monthly spend; Pro 4.5% on the first $8,000

No data yet

Cashback paid in

AVAXShow source

Cashback paid in: AVAX

Source states (paraphrased): Credited in AVAX (native asset of the Avalanche network).

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%

BTC, USDC (US) or USDT (outside US)Show source

Cashback paid in: BTC, USDC (US) or USDT (outside US)

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%

Cashback type

CryptoShow source

Cashback type: Crypto

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

CryptoShow source

Cashback type: Crypto

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

Cashback-eligible spend cap

$2,500/month*Show source

Cashback-eligible spend cap: $2,500/month

Standard: headline rate on the first $2,500 per calendar month; Pro $8,000, VIP $20,000; lower rates above

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%

Standard: headline rate on the first $2,500 per calendar month; Pro $8,000, VIP $20,000; lower rates above

No data yet

Cashback conditions

Rate depends on tier and steps down with monthly spend (bands reset each calendar month) · Transactions under $1.00 earn no cashback · Paid daily after the transaction settlesShow source

Cashback conditions: Rate depends on tier and steps down with monthly spend (bands reset each calendar month) · Transactions under $1.00 earn no cashback · Paid daily after the transaction settles

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Choose the cashback asset first · Calculated on all monthly card transactions and paid at the end of each monthShow source

Cashback conditions: Choose the cashback asset first · Calculated on all monthly card transactions and paid at the end of each month

Source states (paraphrased): At the end of each month, you will receive your reward for the total amount of card transactions.

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

Staking / holding required for top rewards

No data yet
NoShow source

Staking / holding required for top rewards: No

Source states (paraphrased): No staking required.

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Reward exclusions

Cash advances, ATM withdrawals, money orders, traveler's checks and cash equivalents · Purchases of crypto, stablecoins, NFTs, securities, foreign currency · Gambling, wagering, lottery, gaming · Gift card and stored-value purchases · Peer-to-peer transfers and remittances · Account funding, loan/credit repayments, balance transfers, insurance premiums · Fees, taxes, fines and payments to government agencies · Returned, refunded or charged-back transactions*Show source

Reward exclusions: Cash advances, ATM withdrawals, money orders, traveler's checks and cash equivalents · Purchases of crypto, stablecoins, NFTs, securities, foreign currency · Gambling, wagering, lottery, gaming · Gift card and stored-value purchases · Peer-to-peer transfers and remittances · Account funding, loan/credit repayments, balance transfers, insurance premiums · Fees, taxes, fines and payments to government agencies · Returned, refunded or charged-back transactions

Eligibility follows the MCC assigned by the card network

Source states (paraphrased): cash advances, ATM withdrawals, money orders, traveler's checks, or other cash equivalents;

Source: Ethena Pay Terms of Use

Official terms & conditions (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%

Eligibility follows the MCC assigned by the card network

No data yet

Credit & financing

Credit line

Yes*Show source

Credit line: Yes

Secured by your own collateral

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%

Secured by your own collateral

Yes*Show source

Credit line: Yes

Optional; rates depend on country of residence

Source states (paraphrased): You can also choose to use your crypto as collateral. Access smart credit lines with rates starting at 0% depending on your country of residence

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 70%

Optional; rates depend on country of residence

Credit type

Crypto-backed creditShow source

Credit type: Crypto-backed credit

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%

Crypto-backed credit*Show source

Credit type: Crypto-backed credit

Optional credit line

Source states (paraphrased): You can also choose to use your crypto as collateral.

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 70%

Optional credit line

Interest (APR)

0%*Show source

Interest (APR): 0%

Purchases; issuer and Ethena Pay may introduce interest on new purchases with prior notice

Source states (paraphrased): Your Spend Card is currently 0.00% interest on all purchases.

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%

Purchases; issuer and Ethena Pay may introduce interest on new purchases with prior notice

No data yet

Interest notes

0% on purchases; Issuer and Ethena Pay may introduce interest on new purchases, disclosed before it takes effectShow source

Interest notes: 0% on purchases; Issuer and Ethena Pay may introduce interest on new purchases, disclosed before it takes effect

Source states (paraphrased): The Issuer and Ethena Pay reserve the right to implement interest charges in the future for new purchases

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Credit line rates starting at 0% depending on country of residenceShow source

Interest notes: Credit line rates starting at 0% depending on country of residence

Source states (paraphrased): Access smart credit lines with rates starting at 0% depending on your country of residence

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%

Liquidation risk

Yes*Show source

Liquidation risk: Yes

Collateral can be liquidated after a Liquidation Event (e.g. unpaid charges)

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Collateral can be liquidated after a Liquidation Event (e.g. unpaid charges)

No data yet

Spend own balance directly

No data yet
YesShow source

Spend own balance directly: Yes

Source states (paraphrased): Spend your crypto or use it as collateral

Source: Card program

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 70%

Spend by borrowing against collateral

No data yet
Yes*Show source

Spend by borrowing against collateral: Yes

Page only says crypto can be used as collateral; no credit terms given

Source states (paraphrased): Spend your crypto or use it as collateral

Source: Card program

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 60%

Page only says crypto can be used as collateral; no credit terms given

Availability

Available in

Argentina, BZ, BO, Brazil, Colombia, CR, EC, SV, GT, GY, HN, Mexico, PA, PY, Peru, SR, UY, AG, BS, BB, KY, DM, DO, GD, KN, LC, VC, TT, TC, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, PK, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, CI, EG, GH, Kenya, MA, SN, South Africa, UG, ZM, Australia, New Zealand*Show source

Available in: Argentina, BZ, BO, Brazil, Colombia, CR, EC, SV, GT, GY, HN, Mexico, PA, PY, Peru, SR, UY, AG, BS, BB, KY, DM, DO, GD, KN, LC, VC, TT, TC, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, PK, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, CI, EG, GH, Kenya, MA, SN, South Africa, UG, ZM, Australia, New Zealand

Beta. Announced as coming soon: USA, EU, UK, Switzerland, Canada, Taiwan, South Korea

Source: Available Jurisdictions — Ethena Pay

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%

Beta. Announced as coming soon: USA, EU, UK, Switzerland, Canada, Taiwan, South Korea

EEA, United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, Brazil*Show source

Available in: EEA, United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, Brazil

Per Ledger shop FAQ; other Ledger pages list fewer regions

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Per Ledger shop FAQ; other Ledger pages list fewer regions

Not available in

United States, AF, BY, MM, BI, CF, CU, CD, ET, IR, LB, LY, ML, NI, KP, RU, SO, SS, SD, SY, VE, YE, ZW*Show source

Not available in: United States, AF, BY, MM, BI, CF, CU, CD, ET, IR, LB, LY, ML, NI, KP, RU, SO, SS, SD, SY, VE, YE, ZW

Card not offered to U.S. persons; restricted jurisdictions per Terms §4.6 also include Abkhazia, Crimea, Donetsk/Luhansk, Northern Cyprus, Somaliland and South Ossetia

Source: Ethena Pay Terms of Use

Official terms & conditions (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%

Card not offered to U.S. persons; restricted jurisdictions per Terms §4.6 also include Abkhazia, Crimea, Donetsk/Luhansk, Northern Cyprus, Somaliland and South Ossetia

No data yet

Own IBAN / bank details

Yes*Show source

Own IBAN / bank details: Yes

Virtual account (IBAN) not yet available in BB, JP, MY, PK, MA, SN, UG, AU, NZ

Source: Available Jurisdictions — Ethena Pay

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 70%

Virtual account (IBAN) not yet available in BB, JP, MY, PK, MA, SN, UG, AU, NZ

No data yet

Features

Apple Pay

YesShow source

Apple Pay: Yes

Source states (paraphrased): Add to Apple Pay in seconds.

Source: Ethena Pay

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 95%

YesShow source

Apple Pay: Yes

Source states (paraphrased): Use your card with Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Google Pay

No*Show source

Google Pay: No

Announced as available soon

Source states (paraphrased): Google Pay available soon.

Source: Ethena Pay

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

Announced as available soon

YesShow source

Google Pay: Yes

Source states (paraphrased): Use your card with Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Virtual card

YesShow source

Virtual card: Yes

Source states (paraphrased): Generate a virtual card in under a minute.

Source: Ethena Pay

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 22 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

YesShow source

Virtual card: Yes

Source states (paraphrased): Free virtual card

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

ATM withdrawals

Yes*Show source

ATM withdrawals: Yes

Availability limited and depends on card, device and country

Source states (paraphrased): ATM cash withdrawals are supported where your card, device and country allow it

Source: Pricing — Ethena Pay

Official pricing / fee schedule (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 75%

Availability limited and depends on card, device and country

YesShow source

ATM withdrawals: Yes

Source states (paraphrased): Withdraw local currencies at ATMs worldwide

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 90%

Spendable assets

No data yet
BTC · ETH · SOL · Stablecoins*Show source

Spendable assets: BTC · ETH · SOL · Stablecoins

Top-up assets ('and more'); converted to fiat at purchase

Source states (paraphrased): Fund your card quickly and easily with BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and more

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 80%

Top-up assets ('and more'); converted to fiat at purchase

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

No data yet
EU: UAB Monavate, registered and regulated in Lithuania (code 305628001) · UK: Monavate Ltd, FCA registered number 901097 · US: Visa debit card in partnership with Cross River Bank, Member FDICShow source

Regulation / licences: EU: UAB Monavate, registered and regulated in Lithuania (code 305628001) · UK: Monavate Ltd, FCA registered number 901097 · US: Visa debit card in partnership with Cross River Bank, Member FDIC

Source states (paraphrased): Monavate Ltd, an entity registered and regulated in England under legal entity code 12472532, with FCA registered number 901097

Source: CL Card compatible with Ledger

Official product page (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

Deposit protection

NoShow source

Deposit protection: No

Source states (paraphrased): are not deposits or insured by any government deposit insurance or investor protection scheme

Source: Ethena Pay Terms of Use

Official terms & conditions (tier 1)

Extracted from source by research agent · retrieved 23 October 2026 · verified today (Fresh) · confidence 85%

No data yet

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Ethena Pay Spend Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs−36 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−19 EUR
  • Cashback+720 EUR
  • Net annual value665 EUR

CL Card (Ledger)

  • Annual & monthly feesunknown
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashback+180 EUR
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers