savebackcards.com

bunq vs Phantom Cash Card

bunq

E-money / FinTech

7.2
Phantom Cash Card

Crypto native

4.0

Verdict

  • bunq scores higher overall (7.2 vs 4.0 out of 10).
  • bunq is clearly stronger on: Cashback & rewards, Availability, Credit & financing.
  • Phantom Cash Card is clearly stronger on: Transparency.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

bunq is a good fit for

  • Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card
  • Frequent travellers

Stronger on: Cashback & rewards, Availability, Credit & financing

Phantom Cash Card is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Stablecoin holders

Stronger on: Transparency

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionbunqPhantom Cash Card
Fees100–
Cashback & rewards160
Availability903
FX & international100–
Product features7070
Custody & security7580
Credit & financing7030
Limits & ATM70–
Transparency86100
Best for Cashback5.22.5
Best for Travel8.2n/a
Best for Self-Custodyn/a6.1
Best for DeFi Usersn/a5.1
Best for Stablecoinsn/a5.2
Best for High Spenders5.83.2
Best for Low Fees9.3n/a
Best for Beginners7.75.6
Best Crypto Credit Card6.8n/a
Best E-Money Card8.9n/a

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

Debit card, Credit cardConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Debit Card or Credit Card; Credit Card can pay from own money or with an optional Credit Limit

Prepaid card, Stablecoin cardShow source

Network

MastercardShow source
VisaShow source

Custody model

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

The provider holds the funds

Self-custodyShow source

Card issuer / program manager

bunq B.V.Show source
No data yet

Tiers / plans

Free €0 · Core €3.99/mo · Pro €9.99/mo · Elite €18.99/moShow source
No data yet

Fees

Monthly fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Free plan; Core €3.99, Pro €9.99, Elite €18.99 per month

No data yet

Physical card fee

€99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Metal card on Pro and Elite; extra physical cards €9.99 plus a monthly fee

No data yet

Virtual card fee

FreeShow source
No data yet

FX fee

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

ZeroFX card payments abroad: Free plan up to €1,000 per year (fee beyond not stated on this page); Core, Pro, Elite unlimited

No data yet

ATM fee

€2.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Free plan: €2.99 each; Core/Pro/Elite: €0.99 for the first 5/month, then €2.99; Pro and Elite include 6 free withdrawals/month

No data yet

Other fees & markups

Metal card €99 per card (Pro/Elite)Show source
No data yet

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Programme ended 7 Dec 2025; partner cashback offers still available

No data yet

Max cashback

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback programme ended 7 Dec 2025 (previously Elite/Business credit card); partner cashback offers still available

No data yet

Cashback type

NoneConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cashback programme ended on 7 December 2025

NoneConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

No purchase cashback; Phantom pays variable Cash Rewards on the balance (rate shown in the app)

Interest on balance

3.11%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Savings interest included in every plan incl. Free; variable

No data yet

Cashback conditions

No data yet
Cash Rewards on CASH balances: variable APY set by Phantom, paid weekly, no lock-up · Rewards pause at $1,500 per tax year until tax details are providedShow source

Credit & financing

Credit line

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Optional Credit Limit on the Credit Card

NoShow source

Spend own balance directly

YesShow source
No data yet

Availability

Available in

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, SwedenConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

bunq personal account (all bunq cards require one): citizens and residents of the listed supported EEA countries; non-EU citizens living there may also sign up with suitable documents. Overseas regions/territories excluded. Minors allowed with guardian permission.

United StatesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Except New York; identity verification required for the card

Not available in

AW, BQ, CW, PF, TF, GL, NC, BL, PM, SX, WF, GF, GP, MQ, YT, REConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Residents of Overseas Countries and Territories (Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Territories, Greenland, New Caledonia, Saba, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Wallis and Futuna) and French overseas regions (French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion) cannot currently open an account. Non-EEA residents can join a country waitlist.

No data yet

Account / spend currencies

No data yet
USD (CASH stablecoin, 1:1)Show source

Own IBAN / bank details

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Free 3, Core 5, Pro/Elite 25 accounts; local IBAN in your country on all plans

No data yet

Features

Apple Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

All plans

YesShow source

Google Pay

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

All plans

YesShow source

Physical card

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Not on Free plan; Core 1 included, Pro/Elite 3 included

No data yet

Virtual card

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Free/Core 1 digital card, Pro/Elite 25

YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

YesShow source
No data yet

Spend stablecoins

No data yet
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Spends CASH; USDC, USDT and PYUSD on Solana are swapped into CASH

Travel / rental car insurance

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only bunq Elite plan

No data yet

Blockchains

No data yet
SolanaShow source

Limits

ATM limit

€1,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Personal accounts, per calendar day per person, for accounts verified 3 months or longer; €250 per day for accounts verified less than 3 months ago. Business: €1,000 per card per day.

No data yet

Spending limit

No data yet
$2,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Per day; automatic review for $5,000 after 30 days

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

Full European banking licence issued by De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB)Show source
No data yet

Deposit protection

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to €100,000 via the Dutch Deposit Guarantee Scheme

No data yet

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

bunq

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−36 EUR
  • Cashback+0 EUR
  • Net annual value-36 EUR

Phantom Cash Card

  • Annual & monthly feesunknown
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashback+0 EUR
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers