savebackcards.com

N26 vs SwissBorg Card

N26

E-money / FinTech

6.2
SwissBorg Card

Crypto native

7.1

Verdict

  • SwissBorg Card scores higher overall (7.1 vs 6.2 out of 10).
  • N26 is clearly stronger on: Product features, Custody & security, Limits & ATM.
  • SwissBorg Card is clearly stronger on: Availability.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

N26 is a good fit for

  • Frequent travellers

Stronger on: Product features, Custody & security, Limits & ATM

SwissBorg Card is a good fit for

  • Stablecoin holders
  • Frequent travellers

Stronger on: Availability

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionN26SwissBorg Card
Fees8288
Cashback & rewards4–
Availability70100
FX & international100100
Product features7047
Custody & security7560
Credit & financing3030
Limits & ATM6620
Transparency93100
Best for Cashback4.16.5
Best for Travel7.67.6
Best for DeFi Usersn/a6.0
Best for Stablecoinsn/a7.6
Best for High Spenders4.76.1
Best for Low Fees8.68.3
Best for Beginners7.17.5
Best E-Money Card8.2n/a

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Debit cardShow source

Network

MastercardShow source
MastercardShow source

Custody model

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

The provider holds the funds

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Spends crypto balances held in the SwissBorg app

Card issuer / program manager

No data yet
UAB Monavate (Bank of Lithuania); app operated by BlockNodes SAS (MiCA licence A2026-011, France)Show source

Tiers / plans

Standard · Smart · Go · MetalShow source
No data yet

Fees

Annual fee

No data yet
FreeShow source

Monthly fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard account

FreeShow source

Physical card fee

€10Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard plan; included in Smart, Go and Metal

No data yet

Virtual card fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

First virtual card free on Standard

FreeShow source

FX fee

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Page lists worldwide card payments as free on all plans; exchange rate not stated on this page

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Mastercard exchange rate; SwissBorg adds no FX fee (the crypto exchange fee still applies)

Crypto conversion fee

1.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

N26 Crypto (Bitpanda) trading fee for Bitcoin; 2.5% for other coins, 3.5% for low-liquidity coins; N26 Metal 0.5% discount up to €5,000 order volume per month

0.99%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Exchange fee for every loyalty rank; a real-time market-liquidity adjustment may be added

ATM fee

1.7%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Withdrawals outside the eurozone on Standard and Smart; free on Go and Metal. Euro withdrawals: 2 free per month on Standard (3 Smart, 5 Go, 8 Metal); fee beyond the quota not stated on this page

No data yet

Other fees & markups

N26 Standard: one-off fee covering delivery of a physical debit card (amount not stated)Show source
Real-time market-liquidity adjustment may be applied to the conversion price · Third parties such as Apple/Google Pay, Curve or PayPal may charge additional feesShow source

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard: no cashback; Go and Metal get 1% travel cashback

No data yet

Max cashback

1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Travel cashback on Go (9.90 €/month) and Metal (16.90 €/month) only

No data yet

Cashback paid in

No data yet
BORGShow source

Cashback type

No data yet
Platform tokenShow source

Interest on balance

0.3%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Tagesgeld (savings) on Standard, variable; Go 0.50%, Metal 1.50% p.a.

No data yet

Cashback conditions

No data yet
Cashback is a share of the 0.99% exchange fee: up to 5% (Standard) to up to 99% (Elite top 10) depending on the loyalty rank · BORG rewards are locked for a period (Paid to Trade programme) · Cashback is not guaranteed and can be changed or stopped at any timeShow source

Reward expiry / vesting

No data yet
BORG cashback is locked for a certain periodShow source

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoShow source
NoShow source

Credit type

NoneShow source
No data yet

Availability

Available in

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, SwitzerlandConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

21 countries listed: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (not DOM/TOM), Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland; residency and requirements apply

United Kingdom, Switzerland, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, SwedenShow source

Account / spend currencies

No data yet
EUR · CHF · GBPConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Base currency set by country of residence

Own IBAN / bank details

YesShow source
No data yet

Features

Apple Pay

YesShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Initially in Switzerland and France only

Google Pay

YesShow source
YesShow source

Physical card

YesShow source
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

May follow later

Virtual card

YesShow source
YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

YesShow source
NoShow source

Spend stablecoins

No data yet
YesShow source

Airport lounge access

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard: 33 € per visit; Go first visit 15 €, Metal first visit per year free

No data yet

Travel / rental car insurance

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only Go and Metal plans (not Standard)

No data yet

Purchase protection

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only Metal plan

No data yet

Spendable assets

No data yet
USDC · BTC · ETH · SOL · BORG · USDG · EUROP · TGBPShow source

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

German full banking licence (BaFin)Show source
No data yet

Deposit protection

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to €100,000

No data yet

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

N26

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−20 EUR
  • Cashback+0 EUR
  • Net annual value-20 EUR

SwissBorg Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers