savebackcards.com

Bitwala Card vs N26

Bitwala Card

Crypto native

7.0
N26

E-money / FinTech

6.2

Verdict

  • Bitwala Card scores higher overall (7.0 vs 6.2 out of 10).
  • Bitwala Card is clearly stronger on: Availability.
  • N26 is clearly stronger on: Product features.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

Bitwala Card is a good fit for

  • Stablecoin holders

Stronger on: Availability

N26 is a good fit for

  • Frequent travellers

Stronger on: Product features

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionBitwala CardN26
Fees8882
Cashback & rewards–4
Availability10070
FX & international–100
Product features5870
Custody & security7075
Credit & financing3030
Limits & ATM6066
Transparency10093
Best for Cashbackn/a4.1
Best for Travel6.67.6
Best for DeFi Users6.2n/a
Best for Stablecoins6.8n/a
Best for High Spendersn/a4.7
Best for Low Fees7.68.6
Best for Beginners7.97.1
Best E-Money Cardn/a8.2

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Debit cardShow source

Network

VisaShow source
MastercardShow source

Custody model

HybridConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Self-custodial crypto wallet; euros held in the Bitwala account

CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

The provider holds the funds

Tiers / plans

No data yet
Standard · Smart · Go · MetalShow source

Fees

Monthly fee

FreeShow source
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard account

Physical card fee

€9.99Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plus shipping

€10Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard plan; included in Smart, Go and Metal

Virtual card fee

€0.99Show source
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

First virtual card free on Standard

FX fee

No data yet
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Page lists worldwide card payments as free on all plans; exchange rate not stated on this page

Crypto conversion fee

1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Plus €0.20 per crypto payment; euro payments free

1.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

N26 Crypto (Bitpanda) trading fee for Bitcoin; 2.5% for other coins, 3.5% for low-liquidity coins; N26 Metal 0.5% discount up to €5,000 order volume per month

ATM fee

€2 + 1%Show source
1.7%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Withdrawals outside the eurozone on Standard and Smart; free on Go and Metal. Euro withdrawals: 2 free per month on Standard (3 Smart, 5 Go, 8 Metal); fee beyond the quota not stated on this page

Other fees & markups

Crypto payments €0.20 + 1% per transactionShow source
N26 Standard: one-off fee covering delivery of a physical debit card (amount not stated)Show source

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

No data yet
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard: no cashback; Go and Metal get 1% travel cashback

Max cashback

No data yet
1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Travel cashback on Go (9.90 €/month) and Metal (16.90 €/month) only

Interest on balance

No data yet
0.3%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Tagesgeld (savings) on Standard, variable; Go 0.50%, Metal 1.50% p.a.

Credit & financing

Credit line

NoShow source
NoShow source

Credit type

No data yet
NoneShow source

Availability

Available in

EEAShow source
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, SwitzerlandConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

21 countries listed: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (not DOM/TOM), Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland; residency and requirements apply

Own IBAN / bank details

No data yet
YesShow source

Features

Apple Pay

NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only via Curve

YesShow source

Google Pay

YesShow source
YesShow source

Physical card

YesShow source
YesShow source

Virtual card

YesShow source
YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

YesShow source
YesShow source

Spend stablecoins

YesShow source
No data yet

Airport lounge access

No data yet
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Standard: 33 € per visit; Go first visit 15 €, Metal first visit per year free

Travel / rental car insurance

No data yet
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only Go and Metal plans (not Standard)

Purchase protection

No data yet
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Only Metal plan

Spendable assets

BTC · ETH · USDC · EURShow source
No data yet

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

No data yet
German full banking licence (BaFin)Show source

Deposit protection

No data yet
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Up to €100,000

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

Bitwala Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−36 EUR
  • Cashbackunknown
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

N26

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costs+0 EUR
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costs−20 EUR
  • Cashback+0 EUR
  • Net annual value-20 EUR

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers