savebackcards.com

CL Card (Ledger) vs XPlace Card

CL Card (Ledger)

Crypto native

6.0
XPlace Card

Crypto native

6.6

Verdict

  • XPlace Card scores higher overall (6.6 vs 6.0 out of 10).
  • XPlace Card is clearly stronger on: Cashback & rewards.
  • A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.

CL Card (Ledger) is a good fit for

  • Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card

XPlace Card is a good fit for

  • People who want to keep control of their keys
  • Stablecoin holders
  • Users who need credit rather than a debit/prepaid card

Stronger on: Cashback & rewards

★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link

Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:

ether.fi Cash

Crypto native · ether.fi

8.1

Why we recommend it

  • 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
  • 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
  • No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
  • Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
  • Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply

Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.

Score by criterion

CriterionCL Card (Ledger)XPlace Card
Fees–100
Cashback & rewards2436
Availability100–
FX & international––
Product features7070
Custody & security7580
Credit & financing7575
Limits & ATM––
Transparency93100
Best for Cashback4.65.6
Best for Self-Custodyn/a7.3
Best for DeFi Users6.07.2
Best for Stablecoinsn/a7.1
Best for High Spenders4.55.8
Best for Low Feesn/a8.0
Best for Beginners7.17.7
Best Crypto Credit Card6.57.6

Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.

Product

Product status

ActiveShow source
ActiveConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Silver physical cards live; Gold and Platinum physical cards coming soon

Card type

Debit cardShow source
Debit card, Crypto-backed creditShow source

Network

VisaConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Stated for the US card only

VisaShow source

Custody model

CustodialShow source
Self-custodyShow source

Card issuer / program manager

Frozen Time Unipessoal LDA (Crypto Life platform), with partner baanx.com LtdShow source
Third National; programme managed by Signify Holdings, Inc. (Rain)Show source

Tiers / plans

No data yet
Basic (free) · Silver ($99/year) · Gold ($249/year) · Platinum ($999/year)Show source

Fees

Annual fee

No data yet
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Basic plan; Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999 a year

Virtual card fee

FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Currency not stated on the page

No data yet

Other fees & markups

3.49% fee on withdrawals to own bank account · Physical card delivery fee may apply · Replacement card fees may apply · Liquidation fee percentage applied when calculating available balanceShow source
No data yet

Cashback & rewards

Base cashback

1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Calculated monthly on all card spend

0.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Basic plan, Credit Mode

Max cashback

2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

If cashback is paid in BXX (Baanx token)

2%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Platinum plan ($999/year), Credit Mode

Cashback paid in

BTC, USDT or BXXShow source
USDCShow source

Cashback type

CryptoShow source
StablecoinShow source

Interest on balance

No data yet
6.15%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Variable vault APY via Kamino Finance (Solana vault; USDT 3.26%, BTC 5.43%)

Cashback conditions

Choose the cashback asset first · Calculated on all monthly card transactions and paid at the end of each monthShow source
Rates apply to Credit Mode: Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5%, Platinum 2%Show source

Staking / holding required for top rewards

NoShow source
No data yet

Reward exclusions

Transactions funded by CryptodraftShow source
No data yet

Credit & financing

Credit line

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Optional; rates depend on country of residence

YesShow source

Credit type

Crypto-backed creditConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Optional credit line

Crypto-backed creditShow source

Collateral assets

BTC · ETHConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cryptodraft and Stableloan collateral; BXX usable as collateral for stablecoin borrowing (max 10% LTV)

BTC · ETH · SOL · JitoSOL · USDT · Tokenized stocksShow source

Max loan-to-value

60%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Cryptodraft

80%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Tether vault; SOL and BTC 65%, ETH 70%

Interest notes

Cryptodraft: first 10% spent interest-free, remaining 50% at 1% monthly percentage rate (MPR); higher interest-free LTV with staked BXXShow source
No data yet

Liquidation risk

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Stableloan when LTV significantly exceeds agreed LTV

YesShow source

Spend own balance directly

YesShow source
YesShow source

Spend by borrowing against collateral

YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Page only says crypto can be used as collateral; no credit terms given

YesShow source

Availability

Available in

EEA, United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, BrazilConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Per Ledger shop FAQ; other Ledger pages list fewer regions

No data yet

Features

Apple Pay

YesShow source
YesShow source

Google Pay

YesShow source
YesShow source

Physical card

YesShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Silver plan; Gold and Platinum coming soon

Virtual card

YesShow source
YesShow source

ATM withdrawals

YesShow source
No data yet

Spend stablecoins

No data yet
YesShow source

Airport lounge access

No data yet
NoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Basic plan; Silver 1, Gold 4 visits a year, Platinum unlimited

Spendable assets

BTC · ETH · SOL · StablecoinsConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Top-up assets ('and more'); converted to fiat at purchase

BTC (cbBTC) · ETH (wETH) · SOL · JitoSOL · USDC · USDT · xStocks (tokenized equities)Show source

Blockchains

Bitcoin · Litecoin · XRP · Ethereum · SolanaConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Solana only for receiving SOL; Layer 2 networks not supported

SolanaShow source

Limits

Spending limit

No data yet
$2,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source

Per month, Basic plan; up to $750,000 on Platinum

Security & custody

Regulation / licences

Frozen Time Unipessoal LDA: registered by Banco de Portugal for crypto-asset services · baanx.com Ltd: FCA-authorised for crypto-asset servicesShow source
No data yet

Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month

CL Card (Ledger)

  • Annual & monthly feesunknown
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashback+180 EUR
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

XPlace Card

  • Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
  • FX costsunknown
  • Crypto conversion–
  • ATM costsunknown
  • Cashback+90 EUR
  • Net annual valuenot enough data

Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers