Bitpanda Card vs Lumo Card
Crypto native
Crypto native
Verdict
- Bitpanda Card and Lumo Card have the same overall score (6.8/10).
- Bitpanda Card is clearly stronger on: Fees, FX & international.
- Lumo Card is clearly stronger on: Availability, Transparency.
- A full annual cost comparison is not possible yet because some fees are not disclosed or not yet researched.
Bitpanda Card is a good fit for
- Frequent travellers
Stronger on: Fees, FX & international
Lumo Card is a good fit for
- People who want to keep control of their keys
- Stablecoin holders
Stronger on: Availability, Transparency
★ Our pickEditorial choice · score unchanged · Affiliate link
Neither card is our pick. The card we recommend instead:
Crypto native · ether.fi
Why we recommend it
- 3% cashback in ETHFI on up to $2,000 of spend a monthConditions apply
- 5.35% variable interest on your balanceConditions apply
- No annual or monthly fee on the base tierConditions apply
- Extras on the base tier: airport lounge access, travel / rental car insurance, purchase protectionConditions apply
- Self-custody: funds stay in your own walletConditions apply
Conditions apply; the review lists them with sources.
Score by criterion
| Criterion | Bitpanda Card | Lumo Card |
|---|---|---|
| Fees | 100 | 77 |
| Cashback & rewards | 21 | – |
| Availability | 70 | 100 |
| FX & international | 100 | 30 |
| Product features | 70 | 70 |
| Custody & security | 75 | 80 |
| Credit & financing | 30 | – |
| Limits & ATM | 60 | – |
| Transparency | 86 | 100 |
| Best for Cashback | 5.2 | n/a |
| Best for Travel | 7.9 | 5.7 |
| Best for Self-Custody | n/a | 7.0 |
| Best for DeFi Users | 6.2 | 6.7 |
| Best for Stablecoins | n/a | 6.4 |
| Best for High Spenders | 5.5 | n/a |
| Best for Low Fees | 9.2 | 6.5 |
| Best for Beginners | 7.5 | 8.1 |
Conditions apply, e.g. only for the base tier, up to a monthly cap or in some countries. Tap a value with * (or hover over it) to see them.
Product
Product status
ActiveShow source
ActiveShow source
Card type
Debit cardShow source
Debit cardShow source
Network
VisaShow source
VisaConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Both Basic (Visa Platinum) and Pro (Visa Corporate)
Custody model
CustodialConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Platform-wide: Bitpanda holds customer crypto assets in custody as trustee (security page, not card-specific)
Self-custodyShow source
Launch date
2026-07-01Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Wallet launch date, not necessarily card
Card issuer / program manager
Transact Payments Malta LimitedShow source
Wirex (Lumo Basic card)Show source
Tiers / plans
Lumo Basic · Lumo ProShow source
Fees
Annual fee
FreeShow source
Monthly fee
FreeShow source
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card (base tier); Pro also none
Physical card fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
First card and initial shipment free; every additional physical card costs EUR 10
Virtual card fee
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card (base tier); Basic is a virtual Visa Platinum card; Pro card issuance $3.99 one-time
Replacement fee
€5.90Show source
FreeConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card (base tier); Pro: new card, issuance fee applies
FX fee
0%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
No Bitpanda fee; Visa's own exchange-rate mark-up applies
1.75%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Basic card: 1% plus 0.75% Lumo margin
Crypto conversion fee
0.4%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Wallet swap fee; card spend conversion fee not separately stated
Top-up fee
1.5%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card (base tier); Pro card 1%
ATM fee
2% (min. €2)Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Plus local ATM operator fees
Other fees & markups
Visa FX mark-up applies on non-EUR transactions · Additional physical card EUR 10 · Lost/stolen card reorder EUR 9.90 (per FAQ)Show source
Basic card inactivity fee $4.99 per month after 28 days with no purchase or top-up · Pro card inactivity fee $2.99 per month per card after 28 days without use · Pro card: purchase processing fee $0.25 per purchase, 0.2% Apple Pay/Google Pay fee, 1.1% cross-border fee, 2% refund fee, card verification fee $0.10 US / $0.50 non-US merchant, 1.1% currency conversion fee on non-USD purchases · Minimum top-up $1.00Show source
Cashback & rewards
Base cashback
1%Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
On payments funded with crypto
Max cashback
1%Show source
Cashback paid in
BitcoinShow source
Cashback type
CryptoConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Paid in the crypto used for the purchase
Cashback conditions
Purchase must be funded with a crypto asset as the selected payment assetShow source
Staking / holding required for top rewards
NoShow source
Reward exclusions
Payments funded with fiat (EUR) · Payments funded with Bitpanda Stocks · Payments funded with metals · Payments funded with stablecoins · Payments funded with other non-crypto assetsShow source
Credit & financing
Credit line
NoShow source
Credit type
NoneShow source
Spend own balance directly
YesShow source
Availability
Available in
Euro areaConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Residents of euro-area countries with a verified account; not for users verified via Bankident
Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, TW, United Kingdom, United StatesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card, 36 countries; Pro card available in 181 countries (not listed here); availability decided by issuer verification
Account / spend currencies
EURShow source
USD · EURConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card (base tier): USD and EUR balances in card account
Features
Apple Pay
YesShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Where supported
Google Pay
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Where supported
Physical card
YesShow source
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card
Virtual card
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card (base tier)
ATM withdrawals
YesShow source
Spend stablecoins
YesConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Basic card spends from stablecoin balance (USDC, USDT, EURC)
Spendable assets
All cryptocurrencies listed on Bitpanda · All precious metals listed on Bitpanda · EURConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Bitpanda Crypto Indices excluded; other fiat currencies not supported; page also says 600+ crypto assets
USDC · USDT · EURC · ETHConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card (base tier): supported top-up assets on Base; Pro: USDT, BNB, ETH, BTC, SOL
Blockchains
BaseConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card (base tier) top-up chain; Pro card also Tron, BNB Smart Chain, Ethereum, Bitcoin, Solana
Limits
ATM limit
€500Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Per day
Spending limit
€10,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Per day; weekly EUR 70,000, monthly EUR 280,000
$30,000Conditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Lumo Basic card (base tier): monthly spend limit, per card; Pro card daily limit $20,000
Security & custody
Regulation / licences
Transact Payments Malta Limited: regulated by the Malta Financial Services Authority as a Financial InstitutionConditions apply: tap or hover for detailsShow source
Card issuer licence
Annual cost at 1,500 EUR/month
Bitpanda Card
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs+0 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costs−24 EUR
- Cashback+180 EUR
- Net annual value156 EUR
Lumo Card
- Annual & monthly fees+0 EUR
- FX costs−63 EUR
- Crypto conversion–
- ATM costsunknown
- Cashbackunknown
- Net annual valuenot enough data
Assumes 300 EUR foreign spend and 100 EUR ATM per month, base tier only. Use your own numbers